Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Weekend update…..

Well hello there.  Sorry for the lack of posts.  Things have been a bit crazy.  I promise I will try to post at least three times a week.  How was your weekend?  Our’s was nice.  It flew by as usual.  Saturday we had a birthday party to attend for a friend’s daughter.  I made cuppies and a cake for her.  Everyone really enjoyed it and they were vegan of course.

Friday night pizza night was postponed to Saturday night.  Since I was busy baking and decorating the cake and cuppies, I opted to make us “Nacho Daddy’s”.  The daddy of all nachos.  These bad boys had the following:  tortilla chips, refried beans, soyrizo, pickled jalapeno, black olives, avocado, cheeze sauce, red onion, tomato, “sour” cream, and salsa.  So good.

Saturday I made us pizza.  The boys had a cheeze pizza full of vegetables.  They just didn’t know it.  Their mum was a sneaky snake.  I made a marinara using 5 different types of veggies.  I roasted the veggies and pureed them into the homemade marinara sauce, put it on their pizza and topped it with some Daiya cheeze.  They loved it.  I made a roasted eggplant, sweet pepper, black olive, mushroom pizza.  Sprinkled with a bit of Daiya cheeze for me and Josh.  It was perfect.  We really like Daiya cheeze.

Our summer garden is starting to fade.  We have a few veggies left.  The peppers are doing great.  We have serrano peppers, jalapenos, and sweet peppers.  We are still getting cucumbers and have a ton of basil.  The squash is slowing down on its production, but I am happy to report, we have watermelon!  They are coming along quite nice.  We thought they would be small melons until I read the seed packet.  They get up to 35 pounds.  Wowza! 

We will start planting seeds for our Fall garden next week.  Speaking of gardens, here is our share of the CSA.  We share our CSA with Godmommy Mary now.  It is great, it costs us $15 a week for organic veggies from a local family farm.  Our vegetables are fresh, organic, and didn’t sit in a truck for hours or under artificial light where everyone touches them.  I love it.  And there is no way we could buy this many organic veggies for $15, much less $50.

A sweet treat I made over the weekend.  The recipe is from La Dolce Vegan.  Who doesn’t love pudding?  I added chocolate chips while it was cooking.  Once it cooled I put some fresh organic strawberries on top.  It was so good.  It is way better than the store bought pudding and super cheap to make.

Now for some Vegan on the Cheap.  Last week, we cooked several delicious meals.  Once again, all thanks to VOTC.  Tuesday Godmommy Mary came over for dinner.  I made lasagna.  It was so good.  The cost to us was the cost of the noodles around a $1.00.  In VOTC, the cost is <$2.00 per serving and it serves 8.  This was a very hearty and delicious lasagna.

I also made the Fusilli with Potatoes, Green Beans, and Lemon Basil Creme.  This was terrific and the little guys enjoyed it as well.  The potatoes and beans came from our CSA.  The basil from our garden.  We had to buy pasta and a lemon, making the meal cost about a $1.20.  In VOTC, it serves 4. It was 4 big servings and is <$1.50 per serving.

I also made the Corned Seitan and Cabbage.  This was awesome and a crockpot meal.  I love that kind of meal, throw it in the crockpot and go about your day.  The corned seitan was delicious.  Even picky Boogie liked it.  Josh said it reminded him of what corned beef tasted like many many years ago.  The cabbage and potatoes were a perfect addition to the meal.  I served it with some sauteed yellow squash.  I am using the leftover corned seitan to make ruebens tomorrow.  Yum.  The meal easily served 6 and the cost to us was the cabbage, around a $1.00.  In VOTC, the cost per serving is <$1.00 per serving.

Well, I am off to cook some dinner.  Hope you have a lovely evening. 

I love this picture of Boogie trying to feed his little brother and little bear laughing and refusing.

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Weekend update…..

  1. I love the cakes you made…they are so cute. I love the garden veggies, you guys are such great gardeners…good green thumbs. I also love the picture of the boys they are so cute as always…good job my friend.

  2. Eric on said:

    Everything looked so good… Im glad I just ate lunch 🙂 Oh and I think I need to try out this lemon basil creme!

  3. The cakes and cuppies are so cute! What a lucky birthday girl!

    Isn’t Daiya the best ever? I can’t stop eating it! It’s definitely the best vegan cheese out there.

    That watermelon is getting so huge! Whoa! Soon it’s going to start taking over the neighborhood! 😀

    It must be so nice to have CSA veggies. I hate knowing that people have been touching and coughing and sneezing all over the produce at the grocery store! Yuck!

  4. I always love your cake decorations. You must be VERY popular at parties! 🙂
    It’s funny to think of your summer growing season being nearly over. Ours is just getting going!
    I’m going to try that corned seitan!
    And those pics of the boys are great, as always!

  5. Georgianne on said:

    Your boys are amazing 😀
    And your food always looks tempting and delicious!

  6. Your cupcakes are always so vibrant.

  7. Does your blog have a contact page? I’m having trouble locating it but, I’d like to shoot you an email. I’ve got some ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great blog and I look forward to seeing it grow over time.

Leave a Reply

