Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

TGIF!!!

It’s Friday!  Yay!  I am so glad this week is over.  It has been long.  My allergies have been kicking my arse.  Summer allergies are the worst.  Josh has had a crazy week at work, so he is happy the weekend is here as well.

Now, on with the food.  I am still cooking my way through Vegan on the Cheap.  And the food has yet to disappoint.  Robin seriously knows good vegan food.  Wow!  As I mentioned in a post the other day, our computer is acting up so pictures have been a hit or miss.  Sometimes they upload sometimes they don’t.  Ugh.  The past 4 meals I made were sent to a friend who just had a baby.  I wanted to make some meals that would fit into casserole dishes.  So, she could freeze them and eat when they were ready.  Having a newborn, as most of you know is a lot of work. Plus sleep deprivation.  The first meal I made for the new family was the Deconstructed Enchilada Bake.  I had all the ingredients for this meal, so the cost to make was nothing.  Thanks to our garden, I had a ton of tomatoes in the freezer so I made the salsa needed for the recipe.  It smelled delcious while baking.  In VOTC, the cost is <$1.50 per serving and it serves 4.  The meal was like enchiladas in casserole form.  Mmm, I love casserole, especially a Mexican version.

The next meal I made for the new parents fromVOTC was Cacciatore Noodle Bake.  I wanted to make several meals but all different from each other.  Thanks to VOTC, I was able to do so.  The cost for this meal was $2.00.  I had to buy the noodles and the mushrooms. I had seitan in the freezer I had made a while back.  And as I have mentioned before, the seitan recipe in VOTC is the best around.  I have recommended it to so many people.  It is so good.  By far my favorite seitan recipe.  In VOTC, the cost per serving is <$2.00 and it serves 4.  For the tomatoes in the recipe, I opted to use fresh since I still had some from the garden.  Instead of using canned.

The third recipe I made for the new family was Vegetable Lentil Stew.  These three recipes are great because they seem like they freeze well.  The stew recipe was no cost to us. I had all the ingredients, even some cabbage leftover.  The stew smelled delicious simmering.  I sneaked a spoonful to try.  Wow!  I love lentils and this stew was perfect.  It would be great with some crusty bread.  In VOTC, the cost is <$1.00 per serving.  It easily serves 8 people.

When the new parents got home, I sent over a salad to eat.  Something light and refreshing to fill their belly before napping.  As I mentioned, I wanted to send over a variety of food.  So, I opted for the Thai-Style Pineapple Rice Salad.  We always have pineapple in the fridge.  Little bear loves pineapple.  I used a pepper from our garden. The only cost for this salad was the cilantro.  Our cilantro bolted earlier in the Summer, so I had to buy some.  I miss having fresh cilantro in the garden. The cost for the salad was 60 cents.  I doubled the recipe so we could have some.  Yum!  It was so easy to make and super tasty.  I set aside some for the two little guys without pepper. They loved it.  In VOTC, the cost to make the salad is <$1.00 per serving.  It easily serves 6.

I sent a dessert.  I made the Great Northern Apple Cake.  Oddly enough it has beans in it. But from the smell of it baking and the taste of the batter, you would never know it.  Genius!  I love the idea of beans in dessert.  We have been adding more beans to our little guys diet. And I am going to try more in our desserts as well.  The cake turned out beautiful.  The new parents liked the look of it and the taste.  Don’t tell them there are beans in it. 🙂  The cost to make this meal was the cost of organic apples.  The store had organic apples on sale for 99cents a pound, so the cake cost a $1.00 to make.  Yay!  In VOTC, the cost per serving is <50cents and it serves 8.

Speaking of desserts, one of our friend’s recently had a birthday, so I tried my hand at making another cake from VOTC.  I made the Italian Polenta Cake.  I was a bit skeptical about cornmeal in a cake, but I figured I would give it a shot.  I have  had cornmeal fruit muffins in the past and liked them.  My only knowledge of Italian cake is from my childhood.  I once tried a non-vegan Italian cake as a kid and did not like it.  I think that also added to my skepticism about making this cake.  The only cost to make this cake was the cost of the raisins.  Which was about 40cents.  The batter tasted amazing.  A little grainy because of the polenta, but darn good.  And smelling it bake made the kitchen a definite place you wanted to hang out in while it was baking.  The cake turned out beautifully.  I sent it with little fresh flowers around it.  It was love at first site for our friend and I was later sent an email saying it tasted divine.  That’s what I get for being skeptical.  I love being proved wrong when it comes to good food.

Today is our CSA pick up.  I love Friday for obvious reasons, but I also love it because it is CSA day.  For dinner I am making the Skillet Hash recipe from VOTC with a side of stewed okra and tomatoes thanks to our CSA.   I am also making the Chocolate Surprise Brownies for the boys from VOTC.  The surprise in the brownies, black beans.  Thanks for getting my two little guys to eat black beans Robin. 

What are your plans for the weekend?  We are going to check out the local Natural Epicurean School, they are having an open house.  And one of our favorite thrift/charity is having a 25cent sale.  Yippee!  I love thrift stores.  They are a great way to recycle, renew, and reuse.

Speaking of thrift/charity stores, that brings me to the Frugal Friday Tip of the Day.  Buy secondhand whenever you can.  It is a great way to reduce waste, save money, recycle, renew, and reuse.  Look for garage sales, check local thrift stores, Craigslist, etc.  You never know what you might find.

Well I am off to play with the two little guys.  Hope you have a lovely day.

Here is big brother reading to little brother. I love it.

Have a great weekend.

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “TGIF!!!

  1. I too am skeptical of a cornmeal cake. That seems odd..but if you say it is good I may try it. 🙂 Deconstructed enchiladas sound pretty darn good too! I hope you have a relaxing weekend! 🙂

  2. marylamb on said:

    I love Fridays because I get to see you guys AND get fresh local organic produce.

  3. I *LOVE* cormeal cake! You just reminded me that I haven’t had one in way too long.

    How nice of you to help out the new parents! I bet they really appreciated all the good food that you cooked for them. VOTC keeps getting better and better, I can’t wait to try it myself!

    I hope you guys are having a great weekend and that your allergies are getting better! 🙂

  4. You’re such a good friend, Krys. Those new parents are so lucky to have you nearby!
    I’m finding your recommendations from VOTC so helpful!
    You asked what our plans for the weekend were? Well, ours were to go to the beach on Friday. But I’d been driving for nearly an hour and a half when I got a phone call that my mum had vertigo and we had to turn and go back! I spent the day looking after her instead of paddling in the sea! Hope your weekend is better…

  5. Eric on said:

    I really need to pick up Vegan on the Cheap… esp since youve seemed to like more or less everything youve made from it. The Thai-Style Pineapple Rice Salad sounds amazing and were in the same boat with the cilantro since our plant died.

  6. Megan on said:

    A friend of mine makes a pecan pie with pinto beans in it. Crazy!

Leave a Reply

