Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Weekend update…..

How was your weekend?  We had a great weekend.  Saturday we hit the jackpot at the local thrift/charity store.   Then we met up with some friends for lunch, Craig and Mike.  They live out of town, so it was super cool to see them.  They rock!  Some of our local friends came to lunch too which was great.  I love when vegans gather together and eat.  And all we talk about is food.  Hee hee.  

I also did some cooking.  The weekend is when I try to create new recipes.  We picked up our CSA Friday and I was still a bit tired from feeling craptastic all week, so I cooked a quick meal of cajun spiced panfried seitan, okra, and potatoes.  I served it with some blackeyed peas and cornbread muffins.  It was tasty, very tasty.  I love okra.

Saturday night I made a new recipe, Baingan Bharta also known as Eggplant Curry.  It was so good.  I would have loved it even more with some homemade chipatis, but I didn’t have enough time for the dough to sit.  So, we had our eggplant curry with rice. It was perfect.

Sunday is always our big breakfast day.  I decided to make pancakes.  But not just any pancakes.  I made “Elvis” pancakes, peanut butter banana pancakes.  The boys inhaled their pancakes, literally.  We all loved them.  Josh said they were the best.  I have to agree.

I recently stumbled upon a new childrens book which I am excited for our two little guys to read.  The book is called Garlic-Onion-Beet-Spinach-Mango-Carrot-Grapefruit Juice!  Raising vegan children can be a challenge sometimes.  And we want our children to understand why we eat fruits and vegetables and not animals.  This looks like a great book for just that.  We will be ordering our book later this week on payday.  It is going to be a surprise for the boys for their birthday.

Operation Fall garden is going into affect.  I am looking forward to all the delicious Fall veggies.  I am super excited to tell you that we noticed two cantaloupes growing among the watermlon.  When we planted the seedlings, we just assumed the watermelon choked out the cantaloupe, but to our surprise we found some growing.  The watermelon should be ready to harvest in a week or two.  Remember I mentioned they are supposed to get up to 35 pounds.  Wow!  That is more than our Little Bear weighs.

We are still getting zucchini.  This is around the time of year, I start to get tired of Summer squash.  So, I have to get creative to avoid zucchini burnout.  Today I made zucchini corn enchiladas with refried black beans.  I will let you know how they taste.  I topped them with a homemade chipotle-kissed salsa.

I almost forgot to mention, I created a muffin recipe that has become a favorite of the two little guys.  They are banana oat muffins.  They liked them so much that I have already made the recipe twice in the past few days.  The first day I made these muffins, Boogie and his little brother scarfed down the dozen mini tray I sat out to cool. And Josh loved them as well, informing me I need to make more. 

Well I am off to make some dinner for the two little guys.  I am making something with black beans and rice.  We have been incorporating more beans into their diet and they seem to like it so far.  Yippee!  Hope you have a lovely evening.

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Weekend update…..

  1. I am so happy your weekend was great. I guess you & I have something in common…thrift stores…I LOVE THEM! Actually my entire apartment is furnished with thrift store & garage sale finds. I have found some incredible nice furniture, wall pictures, rugs, kitchenware & appliances and of course lots of gorgeous drapes & comfortors…like brand new & some of them still had the tags on them….and most of them had never even been opened out of the packages…for a few dollars. One time I stopped at a garage sale and the girl that was having it was selling everything she got for her wedding. After 3 months of marriage she found out that her husband was having an affair with her cousin for the past 3 years. She advertised it as “A Divorce Sale…Everything is NEW!!!”…I got everything for my kitchen & bathroom still in the boxes with the bow on top of them for a few dollars too… HEE…HEE….HEE…I was laughing all the way home!

    I love your recipes but unfortunately orkas are not for me…I tasted them once and ever since then I can’t stand them. But I am so happy everyoone had a nice and appetizing weekend. CHOW!!!

  2. Pingback: Promotional Travel Mugs » Where can I get photo mugs quickly?

  3. Loving the blog! If your in the market for more unique additions to your pantry visit VeganFoodStore.com for all your vegan groceries.

Leave a Reply

