Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Weekend update…..

Well hello there.  How was your weekend?  Ours was nice, we went to the lake with the boys for the first time.  I realized they have been to the ocean, but never the lake.  Josh’s work had a summer party and all the families were invited.  It was fun in the sun at a lakeside waterpark.  They provided lunch which was not vegan friendly, so we brought our own lunch.  Which we didn’t mind doing.  The boys had a blast and were super tired when we got home.  Saturday night was an easy meal since we had two tired little fellows.  Sunday we had a great dinner.  I made Un-beef and Broccoli and Spring Rolls with a spicy peanut dipping sauce.  The dinner was delicious, but the spring rolls was my favorite by far.  I also made some cranberry orange muffins, that the boys quickly inhaled.  It was a simple recipe created in our kitchen.

Un-beef Broccoli

Spring Rolls

I also created a new cupcake recipe for my guys.  I made carrot cake cupcakes. They were a treat for the two little guys for doing so well in their swim lessons and for Josh.  He bought a vegan carrot cupcake recently and he was very disappointed.  He said it was dry.  So dry that if he threw it at a window it would break glass.  Yikes!  The cupcakes turned out so good.  Moist and delicious.  I topped them with a lemon icing which was made them perfect.

Little Bear enjoying his cupcake.

Tomorrow will be another large post about Vegan on the Cheap.  No pictures thanks to trying to load on the prehistoric computer.  But after tomorrow, there will be pictures thanks to the laptop.  Yay for modern technology.  So, have you bought your copy of VOTC?  I have been preaching the word of VOTC for sometime now.  I have been very pleased with the cookbook.  We are almost done cooking through the whole book.  I forecast us being done with the cook through by the time Vegan Mofo starts.  I definitely recommend this book.  It is quick, cheap, and tasty.  The best combination I can think of.  And the meals so far have been delicious, no flops whatsoever.  Check it out.

Well I am off to get our two little guys ready for bed.  Hope you have a great evening.

peas and love….

Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Weekend update…..

  1. How did the spicy peanut dipping sauce turn out? I’m looking for a good recipe if you don’t mind giving it out 😀

Leave a Reply

