Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

It’s Friday!!!!!

What are your plans for the weekend?  We are going to take it easy.  Our little guy had an evening visit to the doctor yesterday.  Poor fellow has an ear infection and a serious cold.  I have a wicked cold and Boogie has the sniffles.  So, this week has been a bit unproductive for us.  That’s what happens when mum is sick as well as the two wee ones.

I do have some awesome news, well we think it is cool. I picked a 35 pound watermelon out of our garden yesterday.  No kidding!  And it was so sweet, it was like eating candy.  We now have three large containers of fresh cut watermelon in our fridge.  Such goodness.  The boys of course loved it.  And it weighs more than our Little Bear.

Meals this week have been simple due to three out of four of us feeling under the weather.  We had some veggies from our CSA that needed to be used.  So I created a recipe Kabochu Cornbread Casserole.  I used half a kabochu squash from our CSA as well as some sweet peppers and onion and other ingredients.  It turned out lovely.  And I learned that kabochu is called the Japanese pumpkin.  I had never had kabochu squash and it was similar tasting to other winter squash.

Last night I made a simple meal using more veggies from our CSA. As I mentioned we were still fighting feeling like crap, so I cooked a simple but tasty dish.  I made red beans and rice with fried okra and sauteed summer squash and sweet pepper.  The boys loved the okra and red beans and rice.

Well I am off to relax with the two little guys.  Today is our CSA pick-up which I love. I am such a food nerd. I look forward to our box of veggies each week and get so excited like a kid at Christmas.  Stay tuned for more Vegan on the Cheap cooking and another awesome pizza night.

Hope you each have a lovely weekend. 

peas and love….

Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “It’s Friday!!!!!

  1. Krys, that cornbread casserole looks SO GOOD! How did you make the topping? I want to make this SOON! I’ll use butternut squash, as that’s what we have.
    Your watermelon looks fantastic and my mouth is watering at the thought of its sweetness.
    What a great action shot of Little Bear! Look at his ribcage and his pulled in tummy! It’s a perfect photo!

  2. I could go for some of that cornbread casserole right now! Congratulations on the watermelon! It looks wonderful.

    And that last picture is FANTASTIC! 🙂

  3. that’s one impressive watermelon! i can’t stop eating watermelon this summer, i buy it everytime i go to the store, and i’m sure yours tastes even better since it is fresh from the garden!

  4. The casserole looks great! I would be proud if I was able to grow such a big watermelon!

    The picture of your son in the water is incredible!!! Beautiful!

  5. Wow, that is a huge watermelon! I bet I could still polish it off in a few days. I hope you’re all feeling better soon!

  6. Woot for food nerds! 🙂 I hope the boys get well soon!

    You have earned the Happy 101 award, stop by my page and claim it!

  7. Pingback: Have I told you lately that I love books? « Scottish Vegan Homemaker

  8. Haha, I love these pics of the boys!

Leave a Reply

