Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Weekend update…..

Hello there.  How was your weekend?  Ours was super low key.  Three out of four of us were sick.  Boo.  Me and the boys, so Josh did a great job taking care of us.  Boogie had a cold, Little Bear an ear infection, and I had a sinus infection.  We are all doing much better today.  Which is nice, laying around feeling like crap is no fun.

Friday we picked up our CSA.  I love Friday aka CSA day, it is like a surprise vegetable Christmas.  We had sweet potato greens in our box.  I decided to make a Yellow Summer Curry.  It was a quick, simple, and tasty from our humble kitchen.  I served it over brown rice.  And I loved that all the vegetables were from our CSA with the exception of the organic carrot.

From this……

….. to this!

Saturday night I made pizza for the family.  I made a sweet red pepper, cremini mushroom, and spinach pizza for me and Josh.  And a Daiya cheese pizza with a five vegetable marinara sauce. Boogie wanted to help roll out the pizza dough.  He is the best little kitchen helper ever.

Sunday morning is always big breakfast day.  We wake up and cook pancakes, waffles, whatever.  Yesterday, I made a tofu scramble and blueberry oat pancakes.  Josh helped with the making of this breakfast.  It was so good. 

Last night I made a vegan etoufee.  Seriously the best cajun dish you could ever veganize.  I thought my gumbo was good, but this blew it away.  I also made dirty rice.  A friend of mine works at a cajun restaurant and he told me what essentially goes in etoufee. I figured out the spice ratio, veggies, and a sub for crawfish. Mmm mmm, it was a thing of beauty.  It took quite a while to cook, but the chefs at the cajun restaurants say, in order to make a good etoufee, it is a several hour process.

For a treat I made chocolate pudding for dessert and garnished it with fresh organic strawberries.  The recipe is from La Dolce Vegan. I added 1/3 cup chocolate chips to the pudding to make it even tastier. 

Since we were all feeling better and Josh was off today.  We drove to a nearby city that had a dinosaur exhibit at the museum.  The boys absolutely loved it.  It was interactive, the dinosaurs roared and moved.  They got to dig for fossils, play outside.  We had a  picnic near a pond where a mother was napping with her ducklings.  They had a blast.  Boogie told us on the way home  he wanted to go back and that he had fun.  And Little Bear kept saying “dinesor dinesor” in his baby voice. 

Well I am off to cook dinner for the family.  Hope you have a lovely evening.

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Weekend update…..

  1. Hi Krys, thanks for another great read and will you be posting the recipe for Etoufee.
    Wet miserable day here in Queensland Australia and need a good recipe to make to pick me up.
    Cheers Kevin.

  2. tell Booger he did a great job with the pizza…a future vegan chef!

  3. glad you all are feeling better. nothing fun about being sick by any means. i need to start trying to cook cajun type of meals… they look delish!

Leave a Reply

