Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Dreaming of Baja…..

Oh yes, I am dream of going to the Baja Peninsula.  Swimming in the ocean, walking on the beach with my family.  Until then, I will settle for this meal.  Last night I created a vegan version of Baja Tacos.  Let me tell you, these were the best tacos ever!  No kidding.  And no fish were harmed in the making of these tacos.  They were filled with the crispy no-fish nuggets, awesome sauce, salsa, guacamole, fresh cilantro, and squirt of lime juice.  This is one of the tastiest recipes I have created in a while.  Guess what we will be having for lunch today?  Leftover Baja tacos.  Yippee!  The boys enjoyed these tacos as well, sans the salsa.  They seriously are a thing of beauty. 

For our Sunday Morning Dance Party Breakfast, I made French toast and tofu scramble.  For those of you who are new to our blog, every Sunday morning I make a big breakfast for my family and we listen to The Beatles.  Our two little guys dance around the kitchen while I cook.  It is great.  I have been on a tofu scramble kick lately.  This was our usual recipe, except I added sweet potato greens to the scramble.  The greens were from our CSA.  They were very tasty in the scramble.  The French toast recipe came from Vegan Brunch.  And boy was it tasty.  I served it with fresh organic strawberries.  Our two little guys loved it. 

How was your weekend?  We took it easy.  Everyone seems better now (knock on wood).  It has just been so hot here.  The temperatures have been 100F with a heat index of 110F.  For my friends in the UK, that is 37C and a heat index of 43C.  So, needless to say, we have been hiding out indoors, going to the library and bookstore, playing in the kiddie pool before 11am and using lots of sunblock.  Ugh, I will be happy to see winter. 

Being a parent, I pay attention to what our two little guys eat.  We feed organic, whole grain, and avoid processed foods.  It made me sad to read an article recently about children hitting puberty at 7 years old due to all the chemicals, steroids, gmo, etc in the food today.  It is like these kids are having their childhood stolen from them.  Hitting puberty at 7 years of age is an outrage.  Kids are supposed to go through puberty around the age of 13, not 6 years earlier.  It is a bit depressing. 

It is Monday, which brings a whole new week of fun and excitement to our lives.  The boys are starting to wake up, so we will have to see what kind of fun they want to do today.  Maybe play in the fountains, so they can cool off in this miserable heat.  Or possibly a train ride?  I am off to feed them some breakfast.  Hope you have a lovely Monday.

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “Dreaming of Baja…..

  1. That all looks so good – definitely my kind of food. What a fun Sunday morning tradition. Looking through your blog so I thought I’d say “hi.” 🙂

  2. Glad you all are feeling better! Those tacos look so good – I hope you will be posting a recipe! What are the no-fish nuggets?

  3. Those tacos looke great! I’d love to try that recipe…and go on vacation!

  4. Where the recipe for the fish tacos? They look awesome!

  5. Those tacos do look good. Is the “fish” something you made? And I’ve always had a weakness for french toast! Scrambled tofu has been a favorite for us lately, too. Especially with all of the fresh basil coming up. Hope you and the boys are well! And good luck with the heat, today is strangely cool here. I like it 🙂

  6. Those Baja tacos! Whoa! They look awesome!

    Hitting puberty at 7 really is an outrage. Your boys are so lucky to be fed such wholesome foods.

  7. Mmm, those look tasty! That is wild about kids hitting puberty so early. I try to be healthy, we don’t eat a ton of processed foods, but I admit, I am not as careful as I wish I were. Annika seems to know that that stuff is bad for her though. She won’t eat bread from the store, so I started making my own. She’s super picky about how food is cooked. I think she is going to naturally be a healthy person. She does like ice cream and chocolate though. 🙂

  8. The tacos looks awesome! I do hope you’ll post a recipe for the no-fish nuggets. 😀

    I’m not a parent, never will be either but it’s INSANE that kids could hit puberty so early. It’s sickening. 😦

  9. please, oh please post a recipe for these tacos. i miss fish tacos so bad it hurts

Leave a Reply

