Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

The circus can suck it!!!!!

Oh yeah, I said it.  That’s right.  We went to a Ringling Circus Protest last night.  It was awesome seeing so many people come and rally.  Over 100 people!  I remember going to the circus as a kid and just not feeling right about it.  Now that I am an adult I know why it isn’t right.  It is so sad to know that a baby elephant is taken from its mother at just 6 months of age.  The baby and the mother both crying.  The use of chains and bullhooks for entertainment is just down right cruel.  One of my friends said that she saw the trainers using the hooks to remove the elephants from the trailers.  Ugh. It is so depressing.  I was so proud of our two little guys.  They held signs and Boogie even spoke into the bullhorn.  He said, “Bad guys, leave the elephants alone!”  Then he said, “Hi Mama.  I love you.”  I have the best kids ever. 

Okay, onto the food.  Tomorrow I will do another big post about Vegan on the Cheap.  I can’t believe we are almost done with the cook-through. Wow!  If you haven’t bought this book, I highly encourage you to do so.  The recipes are delicious and cheap. The book is definitely worth the money.

Earlier this week I created a muffin recipe. It was so tasty.  The boys loved them. I will definitely be making these muffins again.

Streusel Top Apple Muffins

2c flour

1t baking powder

3/4t baking soda

1/4t salte

1 stick soy margarine, soft

1/4c soymilk

1c sugar

2 flax eggs

1t vanilla

2 small apples, grated

 topping:

1/3c brown sugar

2T flour

1/4t cinnamon

2T margarine, soft

 Preheat oven to 375F.  In a small bowl combine the sugar, margarine, soymilk, vanilla, and flax.  Add the dry ingredients.  Stirring to combine.  Gently fold in the apples.  Distribute the batter into a lightly sprayed 12 cup muffin pan.  In a small bowl, combine the topping ingredients.  Distribute among the muffins, spreading evenly on top.  Bake for 20-23 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the muffin comes out clean.  Let cool in the pan for 10 minutes and then remove and cool on a baking rack. Yield:   12 regular muffins or 6 large muffins.

 Well we are off to run some errands. Hope you have a lovely Thursday.

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “The circus can suck it!!!!!

  1. The circus is evil and DISGUSTING!!
    Also, how cuuuute are your boys!! “Hi Mama. I love you.” Awww!

  2. Another great looking creation of yours that I’ll be trying soon!

    When the offspring were tiny, we protested against a circus in Perth. Johnny was five years old and was handing out leaflets. Some people took them and then tore them up in front of him! And one man said to me, ‘How will your children ever get to see wild animals if you don’t let them go to the circus?’!!!!!!!

    Just reading about the awful things they do in circuses upsets me so much!

  3. I never go to the circus. I didn’t know, however, about all of the awful and cruel things they do. Thanks for letting people know about it!

  4. “Bad guys, leave the elephants alone!”

    Love it 😀

  5. buckeye 1 on said:

    You are all a bunch of losers. Do you have a brain of your own or does the mothership control you?

  6. i read a news story today where a mother stated that she & her husband hated supporting the circus financially, but that her kids love it, so she does it for them. i am not a parent and therefore do not wish to judge her decision, but i like to think that when i do have children, i will explain why things that appear innocent and fun often times are not. i love that you are doing the same for your children.

    i can’t wait to try your recipe for the Streusel Top Apple Muffins! they look fantastic.

  7. I am so happy to you kids involved in actions like these. I think it is a great tool for parenting and you make me smile. They are going to grow up to be amazing people! You are a phenomenal mother.

  8. I hate the stupid circus! Arthur is such a sweet little guy. I think most kids would avoid the circus if they could see what goes on behind the scenes. If only more parents would encourage their kids to be kind to all living things.

    Thanks for the muffin recipe, I love streusel tops! 🙂

  9. I think the numbers are clear. Lets see the fan count reflect the vote count. The Brown snowball is rolling keep pushing till 8PM on Tuesday

Leave a Reply

