Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Hello…….

Sorry it’s been a few days since I updated.  I wasn’t feeling very social.  I’m back and I have cooked up some delicious food recently as well as cooked with Vegan on the Cheap.  We are almost done with the cook-through.  Here are a few meals I cooked thanks to hatch chiles being in season and our CSA.  First off I made a roasted hatch chile pot pie.  It was divine.  So tasty and the leftovers were even better.  And nothing beats homemade pie crust.

I also made hoisen roasted eggplant and edamame fried rice.  Simple and delicious.  The boys especially liked the fried rice.

We had some lovely acorn squash in our CSA box.  I decided to make maple roasted acorn squash with almond sage quinoa and a side of roasted broccoli.  Such goodness.

Today we finally have some so-called cool weather.  Instead of it being 104F.  It is 96F.  And you can really feel the difference.  I plan to take the little guys to the park and library this evening.  Their two favorite places. 

Well I am off to do some baking for one of Josh’s coworkers.  She is starting a gluten-free diet due to doctors orders so she asked if I could make some gluten-free muffins.  She is very receptive to a vegan diet and loves our baked goods.  I’m glad I could help.

Hope you each have a lovely day.

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “Hello…….

  1. lazysmurf on said:

    I am loving this cold front too! The Hatch Chile pie looks divine. I finally got some but have had no time to cook!

  2. “I wasn’t feeling very social.” is being the sentence of my last days too and I’m still a little bit like this.

    The pie looks delicious, I really like salty pies.

  3. I love pies, too, and must try one. Hope everything’s OK with you now? Those are such sweet family photos!
    You’re such a good friend to people, Krys. They must feel glad they know you! (As I do!)

  4. Ha! I read you all the time and bought Vegan on the Cheap. But I had no idea you were an Austinite until I recognized the weather report today!

  5. The pie! The eggplant! The squash! You always have the most wholesome goodness! I hope the weather stays “cool” for you! 🙂

  6. Hi Krys!
    I just bought Vegan on the Cheap mostly because of all your glowing reviews of everything you cooked out of it. It just came yesterday – can’t wait to try some of the meals out on my little boys.

  7. blessedmama3 on said:

    Boy, can I relate to you. I’m in Sacramento, CA, and our summertime weather is usually sweltering. We’ve had some relief this year, but yesterday it was 107!

  8. love all the food…you have been a busy bee in the kitchen… a great chef!

  9. it all looks great. never thought of hoisen & eggplant before though. very interesting!

  10. Everything looks yummy! I’ll have to check out “Vegan on the Cheap.” I’m just a run-of-the-mill vegetarian, but vegan food definitely helps me save $.

  11. I just had to google Hatch Chillies and came up with this link http://www.nmchili.com/why_hatch_nm.htm. Now I’m on a mission to find some.

Leave a Reply

