Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

We want the funk!!!!

Well not really.  You know how you just feel like you are in a funk or a slump?  Seriously, like you are in a rut that you can’t get out of?  I have felt that way for the past few days.  Hence, the lack of post.  I am still cooking, and finishing up the cook-through of Vegan on the Cheap.  I just have felt like a hermit or a turtle wanting to hide in its shell and float away.  It could be a full moon, the alignment of the planets, who knows.  Hopefully it will pass soon.  I did want to post something.  So, of course it will be about food and my cute little darling boys.  I promise I will post about Vegan on the Cheap very soon. I just don’t feel much like typing a long post today.  My sincere apologies.

The other day there was a butternut squash in our CSA that needed to be eaten.  I love butternut squash and I especially love it in this recipe I created:  Butternut Squash Gnocci with Sage “Butter”.  It was so tasty. I served it with a side of roasted broccoli.

Next I made a simple mushroom pasta dish.  It had sweet peas in it with a simple gravy sauce.  The boys loved it.  This made me happy because most children under the age of 5 will not touch mushrooms with a 10 foot pole.  The dish was very easy to make and quite tasty.

Over the weekend, I wanted some Southern fried goodness.  Not the healthiest dish, but darn tasty.  Plus we had some okra in the garden and in our CSA box that needs to be eaten.  I made chickpea cutlets, mashed potatoes with gravy, and fried okra.  Josh said the potatoes were the creamiest and best potatoes he had ever tasted.  I told him my secret ingredient.  He said, “wow”. 😉 

One of the best recipes created this week in our humble kitchen was a recipe called Coconut Mint Chocolate Pudding.  Man oh man was it perfection in a cup.  It was so good.  And homemade pudding is so much better than the store bought.  As well as cheaper and there are no preservatives.  It was a little taste of heaven.

Last night I created a recipe we really enjoyed.  It was a Curried Eggplant Casserole.  It was so tasty.  We had some eggplant from our CSA box and I didn’t feel much like making an Italian eggplant dish.  So, I decided to go curry. I love curry and you can never go wrong with curry in my book.

Yesterday we took the boys to the local university to the science center.  They had a lovely prehistoric display.  Little Bear is obsessed with dinosaurs and big brother is pretty fond of them too.  It was a great display and very educational. 

I am off to make some roasted acorn squash soup and some muffins for Josh’s work.  Hope you have a lovely Monday.

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

13 thoughts on “We want the funk!!!!

  1. Sunni Zuniga on said:

    rejoining coop would snap you out of your funk I’m sure! We are down to 2 families (ours and Claire’s) so we’re on hold. Let me know if you’d consider it. We’re both open to just having 3 instead of 4 also.

    🙂

    -sunni

  2. Well, Krys, for someone who’s feeling in a bit of a rut, you’re doing some pretty great cooking! 🙂 Everything looks delicious, as usual. 🙂 And your family photos are very sweet, as usual.:) Hope you’re feeling chirpier soon…

  3. Hi Krys, sorry you’re feeling down 😦 I tend to go through phases of feeling like superwoman and then feeling completely hopeless – it ebbs and flows. Hope you feel more like yourself soon! I have to ask: what’s your mashed potato secret ingredient? Very intrigued! And that gnocchi look delicious – I have half a butternut squash in the fridge but that’s already earmarked for a curry! DJ x

  4. Thanks for taking the time and effort to post. I am in a rut of my own right now, so it helps to know that others sometimes experience the same thing.

    Your food looks delicious. Thanks to you I purchased Vegan on the Cheap and can’t wait to try a few recipes.

  5. Sounds like you’re coming up with great dishes! That gnocchi sounds excellent.

  6. Being stuck in a rut sucks! I hope you feel like your happy self soon! 🙂

    Your food looks awesome, as always. I want that squash gnocchi!! And we both made coconut mint chocolate desserts!

  7. The chickpea cutlets/mashed potatoes/fried okra meal… jealous, very jealous 🙂

  8. Hope you feel better soon. I am impressed that you make such beautiful dishes when in a funk. We just have sandwiches and oatmeal!

    So what’s the secret ingredient? Also, I hope you will be publishing that gnocchi recipe. I love gnocchi!

  9. hello again. do you have a recipe for the chocolate mint pudding? It looks delicious! Is it from Vegan on the Cheap?

  10. Where are the recipessssssssssss????? I want to make all of the things in this post and the post before it esp. the eggplany hoisin!

  11. Pingback: Free Music for iPod

  12. If folks simply bothered to learn some necessary marketing techniques and psychological science then internet marketing and search marketong would
    be a whole lot easier and they might ultimately save moolah by possibly doing it on their own or finding a inexpensive but experienced sourtce to complete it
    for them.

  13. Helpful information. Fortunate me I found your web site accidentally, and
    I’m stunned why this twist of fate didn’t came about earlier!
    I bookmarked it.

Leave a Reply

