Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Winner winner, tofu dinner or pot pie dinner!!!!!

I entered a recipe contest at a local gourmet grocery store here.  Josh brought home a business card one day from the store and said I should enter for fun.  I thought, why not?  Never in a million years thinking I would have a chance. It is a very omni contest.  This past Thursday I recieve an email letting me know that out of 300 entries, I am a finalist.  What?!?!  I was shocked and happy.  They said I need to make my recipe again, bring 4 copies of it printed for the judges and enough to serve 6 people.  Saturday rolls around which is the day of the contest.  I wake up, make my pie crust and start to cook, so it can sit all day and let the flavors mesh.  By the way, the recipe I submitted was a roasted hatch chile pot pie.  When we arrived at the store that afternoon, there were 12 finalists all together.  We each waited for the judges to try our food, mingled a bit and then the announcements came.  3rd place……Krys.  Yes, me.  I was the only vegan recipe submitted and I placed 3rd.  Woo hoo!  The judges said they really liked it and couldn’t believe it was vegan.  I won a gift certificate, a prize basket, my recipe published in their cookbook, and of course bragging rights. 

Arthur turned 4 on Friday.  I can’t believe it.  He is such a sweet boy.  He loves superheroes.  So, I made him a Batman cake.  Batman goes vegan! 

Well, it is Labor Day weekend for us living in the states.  Which means a nice relaxing 3 day weekend.  I am planning on making sweet potato flautas for our Labor Day treat and relaxing with my family.  Hope you each have a lovely weekend.

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

13 thoughts on “Winner winner, tofu dinner or pot pie dinner!!!!!

  1. Congratulations! Your pie is gorgeous.

  2. YEAH!!!!!….how fun…I am so tickled for you Krys…keep up the great work you do in the kitchen…CONGRATS!!!!

  3. Congratulations!! That’s very, very, cool!! You gotta love making omnis eat vegan food and enjoy it. 😉 The pot pie sounds delicious, and that cake looks awesome.

  4. How exciting! Congratulations!

  5. That’s SO AWESOME!
    YAY YOU!!!

  6. WHOOOO!!! Congratulations! I am not surprised though, your food aways looks amazing, and now those judges have confirmed that it also tastes amazing! 😀

    Aww, happy birthday Arthur! They grow up so fast! 🙂

  7. Congrats! That is so awesome.

  8. That’s so great! But so un-surprising! That’ll show those omnis, eh? Your pie looks so good and the family photo is lovely. You all look so sweet and happy! And what a great Batman cake!
    BTW, I have a pie topped with corncrust made to your recipe in the oven at the moment! Mmmm….

  9. Congratulations Krys! That is so awesome! I’m sure there was some stiff competition at CM.

  10. I finally get round to passing-on my Congratulations to you! Well-done, how exciting for you!!! I know that pie must be really good, you’ve mentioned it a few times on this blog before so I take it it’s a family favourite! And I am once again envious of your cake decorating chops, I made a hedgehog cake for Rory’s 4th Birthday party that ended up looking like roadkill, I kid you not! Arthur’s Batman cake rocks! DJ xo

  11. Awesome Batman Cake! What do you use to color your icing?

  12. Pingback: Internet Marketing

Leave a Reply

