Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Kickin’ it co-op style…..

Dinner co-op that is. I am glad to be back in the co-op. The break was nice and all, but this is even better.  And my grocery bill went from $75-80 a week down to $40-45 a week.  Woo hoo!  Yay for saving money!

Tuesday we were delivered chickpea cutlets, roasted potatoes, brown gravy and green beans.  Chickpea cutlets are the best invention ever.  She cooks them to perfection.  Funny, when I make them, they are good, but seem a little tough.  I may try baking them next time.

Last night we were delivered spinach mushroom enchiladas and a black bean avovado salad.  It was very good.  I especially enjoyed the enchiladas. 

Today is my day to deliver and cook for the co-op.  I am making New Orleans red beans with a vegan andouille sausage, rice, cornbread, and some kind of dessert treat.

It is Thursday.  Yippee!  The weekend is almost here.  Today is library day.  When Josh gets home from work, we head to the public library.  The boys love it.  They like seeing all the books and picking out something for us to read to them.

Our two little guys “reading” about dinosaurs.

Well I am off to finish cooking for the co-op and have some coloring and craft time with the two little guys.  Hope you each have a lovely day.

peas and love….

Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

12 thoughts on “Kickin’ it co-op style…..

  1. Wow! That’s great savings. I have thought about joining a food co-op, but I am so bad at meal preparation. Do you have any advice for us poor meal planners? Chickpea cutlets sound delicious. 🙂

    • twoveganboys on said:

      Martha Hi. I think for poor meal planners, the best meals to cook are simple ones: casseroles, soups, stews, one-pot meals, etc. If you decide to join a dinner co-op, pick a day that is easiest for you. A day that is usually a slow day where you don’t have a lot crap to do. Dinner co-ops are definitely nice. It is perfect for a day that has been shit-tastic. You open up your door and there is a hot, fresh meal waiting for you. I have been very grateful for the co-op this week. It has been a doozy. Hope you have a terrific day. love your friends Krys and the boys

  2. Jennifer on said:

    I love this co-op idea. Can I ask how you got it started? And maybe some details about how it runs? Really enjoying the blog! Keep up the good work!

  3. great dinner…wow!!!

    I don’t know if I ever told you of a craft i did with my kids. Take a white piece of paper (like a cumputer paper) fold it in half the long way, then write one of the boys name on it (each boy gets their own) in cursive with a black crayon and make sure the letter edges touch the bottom fold of the paper. then fold it in half and let the kids scratch the folded paper lightly with a penny really good to completely copy the name on the other side. when they open it it looks like a crazy monster, then re-write their name over the copied side uniting both names together in the fold. then let the boys color it in different colors. when they are done put eyes on one of the ends, then stand the page up and they would see what they have created… a monster from their name. my boys used to get a kick out of it every time we did it. enjoy and post their monster on your blog so I can see their creation….oxoxoxo

  4. God, I love chickpea cutlets and it’s been way, way, way too long since I’ve made them. Also, that avocado salad looks amazing!!

  5. Those chickpea cutlets looks so good, but whenever I make them they’re kind of disappointing! I think I need to play with the recipe a bit… ! I love the idea of a food co-op, if you have a young family like we do that has to be a win-win situation! Starting a vegan co-op in Bathgate would prove challenging, I’m sure! 🙂 I love avocados so that salad looks really good! Hope you guys have a good weekend!

  6. You’re saving some serious money with the dinner co-op! If it makes you feel any better, I have yet to master the chickpea cutlets myself. Happy weekend! 🙂

  7. Yay for libraries! Great looking food, too. Dinner co-op question: Was it hard to adapt to the larger portions made for a dinner co-op? We’ve thought about setting something like this up, but find it a little intimidating.

  8. Jaclyn Smith on said:

    One of my favorite childhood memories is of the library. My favorite book, which I checked out and then renewed endlessly, was ‘In the Rabbit Garden” by Leo Leonni.

  9. I am so jealous of your co-op!! I am constantly thinking about how to start one here. It would have to be vegan *and* gluten-free, however… I am starting to meet more vegans these days so hopefully I’ll gather together a critical mass someday soon.

    All the meals – the one you made and the ones that were brought to you – look and sound delicious!

    I am now #2 in line at the library for VotC. I can’t wait!!

  10. Krys, I LOVE your blog!! Because of you, I’m was inspired enough to get Vegan on the Cheap.. a GREAT book, although I haven’t had any time at all to prepare the meals yet… soon! 🙂

    I also love the CSA and co-op ideas! Totally inspiring. Your family is precious and I’m so happy they’re eating so healthy. You are doing the absolutely right thing for your kids, and they’re going to be so much better for it.

    My only wish is that you would put more recipes on the website… I frequently drool over everything you make, but I never know how much spices to put in (especially with the Indian food you make), so I’m really hesitant to make it myself.

    Can’t wait for the next blog post!! Have a blast at the library!

  11. Sorry for the cuss words, but I get tired of people giving vegans sh-t. That person didn’t know what they were talking about. You rock! I love your blog!

Leave a Reply

