Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Wednesday=cooking day…..

Hello there.  Wednesday is my big cooking day.  I am cooking for the dinner co-op.  As well as making sandwich bread for the boys, applesauce bread, and easy oat bars for Josh.  The boys love cooking day, because that means movie day for them.  I deliver to the co-op on Thursdays, but I prefer to cook in advance in case there is an illness, emergency, etc.  That way, everyone gets their food.  Today, I am making curried mustard greens with chickpeas and brown rice.  As well as some kind of dessert. I haven’t decided what that will be. 

Monday we were delivered vegan crab cakes for our co-op meal with mashed potatoes and corn relish.  Yum!  I have never eaten vegan crab cakes and these were tasty.  I once tried to make a vegan zucchini crab cake and they turned out to be sucktastic.  Big fail on that one.  These crab cakes were good!

Last night we were delivered Baja tacos with cilantro slaw and cauliflower ceviche.  They were really good.  I especially liked the slaw. I was never a fan of it growing up, but this stuff was boss.  Yum!  The boys on the other hand decided they didn’t want the dinner served to them.  Josh came home for a quick dinner and then had to go back to work.  While I was saying goodbye to him, Boogie got the bin of banana muffins out of the fridge and was eating them along with his little brother.  I asked him what he was doing and he said, “We are having cupcakes for dinner.”  That is what he calls muffins.  It was funny.  In addition to the “cupcakes’, I made them a super smoothie:  banana, blueberries, pineapple, ground flax, almond butter, sweet peas, kale, soy yogurt, apple juice.  I wanted to make sure they got something in their tummies.  I was not going to let them eat just tortillas.  Silly little boogers.

Monday night I created a recipe for coconut date bars.  They turned out to be very good.  The coconut is very mild in it, so even if you are not a big coconut fan, they still taste great.  I wanted to make something with dates for the boys. 

Coconut Date Bars

3/4c dates, chopped

2T agave nectar

1/2c soymilk

1/2t vanilla

1cflour

1 1/2c oats

1/2c coconut flakes

1/2c sugar

3/4t baking soda

pinch of salt

3/4c margarine, melted

 Preheat oven to 350F.  In a small saucepan, combine the dates, vanilla, agave nectar, and soymilk.  Bring the mixture to a medium boil, immediately turn down to low and stir.  Cook until the mixture becomes the consistency of a syrup.  Once it is finished, set aside to cool.  In a mixing bowl, combine the flour, oats, coconut, baking soda, and salt.  Gently stir to combine.  Stir in the melted margarine.  Combine until the mixture is coated and crumbly.  In a lightly greased 8X8 baking dish, pour half of the oat/flour mixture into the bottom of the pan.  Spread evenly making sure the pan is covered.  Using a spatula, evenly spread the date mixture over the oat/flour mixture.   Top the date mixture with the remaining oats, evenly covering the dates.  Gently press down with your hands.  Bake for 25-30 minutes or until topping is light brown.  Score the bars while they are still warm.  Let cool completely, then cut into squares. 

 Monday we went to the library.  Each week Boogie picks a letter from the alphabet to learn about.  He decided on the letter ‘B’.  So, we went to the library.  He and his litte brother love books.  We are also working on a lesson about Fall and the changing seasons.  Check under the ‘Thrifty Vegans’ section.  I posted my latest thrift store fine.  More to come. 

Little Bear reading.

Boogie showing us the letters of the alphabet.

Well I am off to finish cooking.  Hope you each have a lovely day.

peas and love….

Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “Wednesday=cooking day…..

  1. Those bars look so good! I definitely need to make them ASAP.
    Did you use whole wheat or white flour?

  2. I’d love to be a part of a dinner co-op. Yours sounds wonderful!

  3. You come to the rescue with another bar recipe yet again! Meg’s lunchbox has never been so tasty as during the last few weeks!

  4. Oh my gosh, I LOVE vegan crab cakes!!! Crab cakes are one of the only things I miss from not being vegetarian/vegan.

    Thank you so much for the coconut date bars recipe! I love dates and I’m trying to get my boyfriend to like them too… this may do the trick!

    Love the thrift store finds. 25 cent sale?? So jealous! Love the belt!

  5. Um, and this might be a dumb question, but what does ‘score the bars completely’ mean? Does that mean take them out of the pan?

    Thanks Krys!! Told you I’m not much of a cook, unfortunately…

  6. you are such a very busy lady…its admirable.

  7. I am soooooo jealous of your vegan co-op! I wish I could find something like that here? How did you get in that?

  8. Sometimes I forget that some people don’t like coconut. Must be because I love it so much! Thank you for the yummy bar recipe! 🙂

  9. Yum! I want to come to your house on a Wednesday!

  10. Do you have a spam concern on this site; I also am a blogger, and I was asking yourself your situation; we now have produced some great approaches and were looking to swap solutions with other folks, be sure to blast me an e-mail if planning to pursue.

Leave a Reply

