Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

TGIT…..

Thank goodness it’s Thursday.  It has been a long and tiresome week. Oy!  Boogie was sick off and on for 4 days over the weekend and late last week.  Poor kid had the projectile barfing stomach bug.  Fingers crossed it doesn’t hit little brother.  Boogie was excited about the unlimited supply of Gatorade he got to drink.  Normally, it’s diluted juice, water, soymilk or oj. 

The co-op is going strong.  We will be taking a break the last week of this month, since we will be out of town.  We’re going to the beach.  Yippee!  I can’t wait.  It will be nice to walk in the sand, collect shells, and take the boys to the conservation and educatin aquarium.

While Boogie was sick, I made him a homemade version of Saltine crackers.  I am not a fan of the store-bought ones, they are full of preservatives and excess sodium.  So I searched online and found a Saltine cracker recipe that I veganized and made.  I used a pumpkin cookie cutter and they were delicious.  Boogie and little brother loved them.  Josh did too. 🙂 

Homemade Saltine Crackers 

1c flour

1c whole wheat flour

6T vegetable shortening

3/4t baking powder

2/3 soymilk (you can use rice or almond milk too)

salt

1/2 stick soy margarine, melted

 Preheat the oven to 375F.  In a mixing bowl, combine the flours and baking powder.  Stir.  Cut the shortening into the flour mixture.  Use a pastry blender or two forks to combine the flour and shortening until it resembes a very crumbly mix.  Add the soymilk.  Stir to combine.  Lightly grease your hands and knead until all the flour is mixed in and the dough is no longer sticky.  Divide the dough into 2 balls.  Lightly flour a surface and rolling pin.  Roll the dough out as thin as possible.  Use a cookie cutter and cut out the dough. Place on an ungreased cookie sheet.  Lightly brush the tops with melted soy margarine.  Sprinkle with coarse salt.  Bake for 15 minutes.  If you bake them longer, pay attention because they will burn quickly.  Yield:  5 dozen or more, depending on the size of the cookie cutter. These beat the store bought Saltines anyday.  No preservatives, all natural and organic.  Enjoy.

Over the weekend I also made a butterfly cake and cupcakes for a 1 year old little girls birthday.  The mum wanted it to be colorful.  The cake was chocolate.  I liked the way it turned out and the family was very pleased. 

For my co-op meal last week, I made “Good Shepherd’s Pie”.  I love this recipe and it is a favorite in my family.  It is full of all kinds of goodness.  I peeled the potatoes this time around since I was serving it to others. Normally I leave the skin on when I mash potatoes for my family.  Here is the recipe, hope you enjoy it as much as we did. 

“Good Shepherd’s” Pie

olive oil

1small onion, chopped

1 clove garlic, minced

3 handfuls fresh spinach

2 large carrots, sliced

1tomato, diced

1c corn

5 basil leaves, chopped

1c cooked red lentils

1c cooked split peas

1T tamari

1/2t ground black pepper

1/2t salt

 

3large potatoes, peeled &chopped

1 small container plain soy yogurt

2T soy margarine

1-2c vegetable broth (as needed)

salt (to taste)

 

Preheat the oven to 350F.  In a large skillet, sauté the onion and garlic in a little oil.  Saute over medium heat for a couple of minutes, add the carrots, tomato, corn, spinach, and basil leaves.  Gently stir while sautéing.  Once the onion is translucent and the spinach starts to wilt, add the red lentils, split peas, and spices.  Gently stir into the mix.  Making sure everything is combined.  Pour the mixture into a lightly greased casserole dish or 8X8 baking pan.  In a pot, boil the potatoes in water until tender.  Drain.  Add the yogurt and margarine.  If the potatoes seem dry, add vegetable broth until they reach a desired consistency.  Salt and pepper to taste.  Spread the potatoes over the top of the vegetable mix.  Gently smoothing out evenly with a spatula.  Bake in the oven 20-25 minutes.

This weekend Little Bear turns 2.  Where has the time gone?  It seemed like just yesterday I was a giant pregnant woman with him in my belly.  Now he is saying words, and trying to talk in full sentences.  It is so cute.  He loves dinosaurs.  It is more like an obsession.  That being the case, I am making him a dinosaur cake for his birthday with a volcano on it.  It will be fun to see his little face light up when he sees the cake. 

Well I am off to work on the letter ‘C’ with Boogie.  He has done really well writing his ‘A’ and ‘B’.  We just need to practice the letter ‘C’ some more.  He writes it backwards sometimes.  He will also say, “Lets work on the letter O.  It is more fun than C.”  Silly boy.

Hope you have a lovely Thursday.

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “TGIT…..

  1. Krys! It’s great to be able to read your blog again! I’ve just sat my exam and am back in the blogosphere! (I couldn’t risk even looking at my favourite blogs. It was study, study, study…)

    So sorry the poor wee Boogster’s been unwell. But those saltine crackers look good. You’re such a great mother! And a great baker, too. Why did you have to leave Scotland? I’d love to be able to visit you… (And not just for the food!)

  2. I hope the babies get better…I also love the butterfly cake…its lovely.

    I am planning to spotlight and feature throughout the month of November cookies that vegans can enjoy for the Holidays.

    I would like for all the vegan bloggers on my blogroll to participate.

    I would like to include you as one of my blog guests for that month.

    Every 4 days I will highlight one of my vegan bloggers from my blogroll with their photo and their best holiday cookie recipe, which will highlight their blog and the written information they send me about themselves and their recipe for those 4 days.

    After the 4 days I will highlight another blogger friend. Once I have highlighted you, you then need to post it on your blog sending your blogger friends towards my blog to see your guest post.

    Make sure your recipe is not complicated.

    If you are interested to join me fir the month of November with your best vegan or raw cookie recipe, please email me all the information I have requested by October 20th.

    Your entry must be in writing and sent to me via email. I need you to send me a photo of yourself and a photo of your family. In your summary tell me a little bit about yourself, where you live, your marital status, your career and of course your recipe complete with the recipe & a photograph of your cookies. Please let me know whether you are participating or not…I truly appreciate your response.

    scoobynana2@hotmail.com

    Thank you.

  3. Homemade Saltines?!?!?!?! That is crazy cool! I am sorry to here that Boogie is ill. 😦 As always, all your treats look so yummy! What beach? Wont it me cold?

  4. Poor Arthur! I hope he’s totally over his bug now and that little Adam didn’t catch it! *fingers crossed*

    What an adorable butterfly cake and cupcakes! Lucky birthday girl!

    Happy birthday Little Bear! 🙂

  5. Hope he gets better soon! I love that you make crackers! We still haven’t gotten around to it, but after seeing the dino ones, I think it will have to happen. Where did you find the cutter for those or did you shape them yourself?!

  6. Vegannifer on said:

    Gorgeous butterfly cake!

  7. Pingback: In which I blatantly plagiarize a vegan, gluten-free Menu Plan Monday « In My Box

  8. You’re so awesome! I do not think I’ve read through a single thing like that
    before. So good to find another person with a few genuine thoughts on this issue.
    Really.. many thanks for starting this up.
    This website is one thing that is required on the web, someone with a little originality!

Leave a Reply

