Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

It’s a miracle!!!!

I was able to retrieve some pictures from our crappy broken camera.  It is slowly dying.  My birthday is Monday, so I hope the birthday gnomes bring me a new camera.  I have been cooking as usual, just not taking to many pictures.  The other day, I made an awesome tortilla soup.  Wow!  It was good.  We polished off the pot and all the leftovers.  It was garnished with tortilla chips, Daiya cheddar, faux sour cream, avocado, and fresh cilantro.  Heaven in your mouth!

Here are pictures of the food I cooked recently.  Yay for pictures!

Chicago style pizza

Southern comfort-blackeyed peas, cheezy grits, and collard greens

Stromboli….this was so good.  Definitely a repeat meal.  It is filled with homemade sundried tomato pesto, vegan Italian sausage, mushrooms, and Daiya cheese.

Chickun and biscuit stew.  This meal is perfect for those chilly days.

Fish n’ chips.  This was perfect, especially with some malt vinegar and HP sauce.  Sending love to my friends in the UK.

Thanksgiving is this week here in the States.  We are going to visit family on Thanksgiving day.  Over the weekend, I am cooking a feast for the four of us.  Josh says he is so excited.  He loves all the food.  I am making:   field roast, chestnut stuffing, mashed potatoes, gravy, chipotle lime sweet potatoes, rolls, cranberry relish, chocolate pecan pie, and pumpkin pie.  As always, all vegan!

Speaking of field roast, I created a recipe for field roast.  It is so tasty.  And it saves money on us buying one from the store.  Here is the recipe.  Enjoy!

Homemade Wheat Roast

2c vital wheat gluten

1/4c peanut butter

4T nutritional yeast

2T tamari

1 1/2c vegetable broth

1/2t onion powder

1/4t garlic powder

1/8t paprika

 Basting sauce

3T olive oil

2T tamari

1/2t dried thyme

In a large mixing bowl, combine the wheat gluten, nutrtional yeast, and spices. Stir, add the peanut butter.  Using your fingers or a pastry knife, combine dry mix with the peanut butter until it crumbly.  Add the tamari and vegetable broth. Knead the mixture until it is thoroughly combined and forms into a dough. Shape into a log.  Wrap the wheat roast in a foil. Make sure it is tightly sealed.  Place in a steam basket, covered.  Steam for 45 minutes. 

While the wheat roast is steaming, combine all the ingredients for your basting sauce in a bowl.  Set aside.

Once the wheat roast is done steaming, preheat your oven to 350F.  Unwrap the wheat roast.  Place it in a lightly greased bread pan.  Bake for 30 minutes.  After 30 minutes, pour the basting sauce over the roast.  Bake for another 15 minutes.  Slice and serve with stuffing, gravy, or use it for sandwiches later in the week.  *If you have leftover basting sauce, it is delicious used as a base for making gravy. 

Check back over the weekend, there will be a vegan unicorn on our page.  Yay!  I am super excited.

Well I am off to do some baking.  Hope you each have a lovely Thanksgiving and wonderful week.

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “It’s a miracle!!!!

  1. Wow! This all looks so yummy!
    Is there a recipe for that chikun stew and “fish” n’chips somewhere?

  2. Yay! I’ve missed you! All that food sounds so great, but frustrating. Did you make up all those yummy recipes or can I find them in a book? Because I want to try them all!
    I’ll make your roast, though. The whole Thanksgiving meal sounds delicious.
    Happy birthday, in advance, dear friend. I hope you get a lovely new camera!

  3. Hey Krys

    Been following for a while so I could learn as much as I could about vegan cooking. I bought Vegan on the Cheap and I am thrilled!! Several of your posts look great (ones that you have either been doing for years or just threw together) anyway I would enjoy being able to make them for my family can you post them or tell me where to look. Thank you in advanced
    Blessings
    Lee

  4. As a follow up to my post and the one above by Penny…I would really, really enjoy learning how to make fish and chips!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. HAPPY BIRTHDAY KRYS…Have a wonderful day.

  6. yay for pics! I just love the chipotle lime sweet potatoes.. yum! I think you and I have very similar palates.

  7. Glad you found these and I hope you can get a new camera soon! The Stromboli looks amazing!

  8. Thanks for the roast recipe. I will definitely be making that one! Please post the fish and chips, or tell us where to look for it! It really just looks so delicious.

    Have a wonderful Thanksgiving with your lovely family. Happy Birthday on Monday! Welcome to a new decade – it has been a good one for me! Hope yours is wonderful, too.

  9. Ooo, everything looks so good! I’m especially curious about the Stromboli and ‘fish’…

  10. Seems like you and your family really enjoyed your delish vegan meals. I do know your boys are sweet. Your family is terrific and the photos of your meals overall on your blog is making me terribly hungry!!!

Leave a Reply

