Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Happy New Year!!!!

Hello there.  Hello 2011!  Are you ready for the new year?  Do you have any resolutions or goals for 2011?  Our main goal is “The 365 Day Project” and then a few small goals to complete before the year ends. 

Did you celebrate on New Year’s Eve?  We stayed in, made pizza, ate cupcakes and watched movies.  It was nice.  The dogs did quite well considering some people were shooting off fireworks which is illegal in the city.  The pizza was so tasty.  The crust was the best crust I have made yet.  I used garlic infused olive oil in it.  Wow!  Oh so good. I will be doing that everytime I make pizza dough.  The cupcakes I made were chocolate avocado cupcakes with a chocolate ganache.  Very very good.  We all loved them.  I was sent a cookbook in the mail and so far the three recipes I have tried are amazing.

Vegan Pepperoni & Mushroom Pizza

Chocolate Avocado Cupcakes

For New Year’s Day, I woke up and made the boys baked donut nuggets.  It is a recipe I found long ago on vegweb.com.  It is so tasty.  I made mini donut nuggets for the boys and regular size ones for me and Joshua. 

For our New Year’s Day feast, I made blackeyed peas, spicy collard greens, mac & cheeze, and cornbread.  All the foods are supposed to be good luck and they are super tasty, so why not? 

Yesterday was “Sushi Sunday”.  I saw two recipes in the new cookbook that I received and decided they looked to good to pass up.  I made a Sunny Raw Nori Rolls recipe and the Maki Garden Rolls recipe.  I had planned to made a Soba noodle salad recipe in the book, but the sushi recipes made a ton.  So, we will make the Soba noodle salad later this week.

Sunny Raw Nori Rolls

Maki Garden Rolls

Dinner!

Well I am off to make some graham crackers for the two little guys.  Hope you have a very happy new year.

peas and love….

Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Happy New Year!!!!

  1. Mmmm! Those doughnuts look awesome, I haven’t had a doughnut in years, yummers.
    I love love sushi, but have never had raw sushi before, might have to try this recipe, looks so good!

    -Sophia
    http://whatyourmommadidntknow.blogspot.com/

  2. We’ve been doing the 365 challenge as well!! Doing great so far, except that we went to Mother’s Cafe tonight for dinner with Jacob, but that was in exchange for me cutting his hair, so I think that still counts, right? I’ve got lots of salad stuff to bring to work with me tomorrow, that should last me a few days. Gabriel is posting what he’s eating over at his blog – http://www.vegandude.com and I pretty much eat what he eats.

    Anyway, happy new year!

  3. Garlic-infused olive oil in pizza crust sounds wonderful! How do you make your oil?

  4. Melissa on said:

    Chocolate avocado cupcakes?? Say what?? That sounds crazy! How do you make them without tasting the avocado? I love avocado and chocolate, but I don’t think I would love tasting avocado in my chocolate… 🙂

  5. How I wish they made shooting fireworks illegal here too! I hate the stuff. Those are very lucky foods indeedy! You guys were very lucky to eat such yummy goodies! 😀

    Good luck with the 365 Day Project! I don’t enjoy eating out, so I should totally join! There’s no way I can fail! 😛

  6. Happy New Year! That’s exciting about your project, I have no doubt that you will succeed.

    The garlic olive oil sounds amazing! And the avocado cupcakes. What cookbook are you using?

  7. Anne Regen on said:

    Awesome! Thanks, Krys.

Leave a Reply

