Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Hi there…..

How are you?  How is your New Year going?  Any resolutions?  We have a few.  I call it a major “to do” list for 2011.  We already conquered two goals.  That was to clean out the spare room and the utility room.  I know, some of you may be thinking “big deal”.  It was.  These two rooms looked like a disaster area.  As if it were a garbage dump for extra crap we had lying around.  It drove me crazy.  I like things in order and for everything to have a place.  Well, now it does.  Happy dance! 

As usual we have been cooking.  We started The 365 Day Project.  It challenges readers to not dine out or order take away for a whole year and see how much money they save.  I love getting comments and emails from people who are trying the project or doing a modified version.

And of course we have been cooking.  Here are some of the meals we have made lately.

Last weekend I created a vegan Rocky Road cookie recipe.  Heaven!  They have vegan Dandies in them.  Yummy.  Needless to say, we polished them off by Monday.

 Of course we had our usual pizza night.  Vegan pepperoni and Daiya.  A favorite. 

I made a pasta dish that was quite tasty.  It was penne pasta with roasted eggplant, fresh spinach, homemade marinara, and  vegan pepperoni.

We made our Swiss Chard & Mushroom Quiche recipe over the weekend.  So tasty, and very filling. I served it with a side of white beans & arugula pesto.  A dear friend gave us a ton of arugula from her garden, so I created a pesto recipe.  There was enough for salads as well.  I plan to use some of the pesto for our next pizza night.

It has been quite cold here.  By our standards. I wish it would just snow.  That would be awesome.  Tuesday is chili or soup day around here.  I made a potato corn chowder with vegan sausage and served them with a side of homemade biscuits.

Over the weekend, I also made some chili. When the cold front hit, I fired up the crockpot.  I created a lentil chili recipe that was freaking awesome and made a ton.  We turned them into frito pies.  Mmm mmm.

Last night I made a favorite around here.  It is our Avocado Cashew Enchilada recipe.  I turned it into a casserole since the tortillas I made were huge.  It was great and easy to make. I served it with a side of cheezy black beans and quinoa.  Which the boys loved.

I am doing some baking today.  We are making banana bread and sandwich bread.  Boogie is under the weather.  He caught little brother’s cold.  So, we are taking it easy and watching movies. 

Well I am off to do a little cleaning around here, then some lunch and hopefully a much needed nap for the little guys.  Hope you have a lovely weekend.

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “Hi there…..

  1. I love the goal of not going out to eat. I never go out to eat because of my food allergies, but I do cook almost as good as you. Good luck with the goals set up for a better economical and saving year. Two thumbs up!

  2. Mmmm…those cookies look so good. I can’t have cookies until Jan. 22 because I’m doing a no-sugar thing and the temptation is killing me. Congrats on the spare bedroom cleaning. I had a similar junky spare room in my house that I cleaned a few months ago and it feels soooo great!

  3. Let’s see what would my resolutions be if I made any…lol
    Well eating our less like you is a good thing. Working out more is definately a to do. I was really lazy last year. I do walk almost everywhere in my town, but I get lazy in the winter. My husband is going vegan next month and I am really excited about that. I think he will like it if he just stops to think about the benefits of a healthy diet. I think you blog is cute and I am glad I followed it from facebook to your blog.
    Viv~

  4. Hi Krys,
    All the dishes look delicious! I am particularly fascinated by the Avacado-Cashew Enchilladas. Can you please post the recipe or provide a link? Thanks.
    Peace 🙂

  5. Ooo, those all look so very yummy. I would love the recipes. Gorgeous food.

  6. Arthur and Adam have such fabulous hair! I’m totally jealous! Really! 🙂

    You guys have been eating well, as always! The frito pie looks so so good! I would like a frito pie and some rocky road cookies for dessert! Those Dandies are pretty good, aren’t they?

  7. Everything looks yummy, but given the weather, that chowder looks particularly scrumptious. I have been making homemade pizza lately and it iasi much better than takeout.

    Cleaning out your extra rooms is a great way to kick off the New Year! I am doing the Happiness Project this year and one of the things I am tacking in January is decluttering and organizing, it feels great and is so energizing!

  8. I have been trying to cook with dandies for awhile now and I screw it up each time! HAHA I am still diligent in my efforts though. Glad yo see yours worked out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

