Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Bah humbug!

Tis’ the season for colds and flu.  A wicked cough has been running through our home. I was hoping it would skip me.  Guess what?  It didn’t.  Right now I have a big pot of 15 bean soup vegetable soup cooking.  Hopefully that will help.  Needless to say, I have been very unproductive today.  The boys are getting more PBS today than usual.  But PBS is educational, so I won’t complain to much.

How as your weekend?  I baked, alot.  A friend asked me to make cupcakes and a cake for a baby celebration for one of our friend’s who is expecting a baby next month. I was happy to oblige.  I made 4 dozen cupcakes (1 dozen gluten-free chocolate, 2 dozen vanilla, 1 dozen, chocolate).  I also made a super cute cake.

cuppies

I told you elephants were vegan. 🙂

Saturday night we made tacos.  I wanted to do something easy because I was spent.  Josh made some homemade tortillas and we had beans and salsa in the fridge as well as an avocado. I found some taco filling in the freezer I had made a while back. Josh also roasted some potatoes to accompany the tacos.  Great job, honey!  They were delicious!

Friday night was our usual pizza night.  I made a BBQ ChickUN pizza for us and a Daiya cheese pizza for the boys.  They loved the homemade marinara.  Thursday, Josh came home early from work feeling under the weather.  I made a big pot of chickUN and dumplin’s vegetable soup.  It hit the spot and the boys loved it. 

Sunday night I made burgers.   I saw on my friend Vic’s blog, they had made burgers recently.  Hooray for veggie burgers.  Delicious and cruelty free!  I also made the muenster cheese recipe from ‘The Ultimate Uncheese Cookbook’.  It was tasty.  The burgers were served with oven roasted sweet potato fries.

Well, I am off to drink some hot lemon tea and take a nap.  Hope you each have a lovely Tuesday.

peas and love….

Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “Bah humbug!

  1. Kris10 on said:

    These pictures are awesome! The food and boys look amazing! So wish we were neighbors. :o)

  2. Cake looks CUTE!

  3. As usual, everything looks delish! That cake is amazing and now I’m craving homemade tacos.

    Hope you feel better really soon!

  4. That cake is amazing I LOVE it!
    🙂
    Hope you’re all better soon.

  5. Sorry to hear you have a cold bug at your house, we just got rid of ours. So nasty in the winter time.
    I don’t eat cake anymore but yours sure are tempting!
    Viv~

  6. Evertthing looks great…especially those blue Cuppies…love them.

  7. Poor Krys! How awesome of Josh to make the tortillas and roasted potatoes so you didn’t have to. That one is a keeper! 🙂

    That elephant cake is so adorable! You’re such a skilled cake decorator! Aww, look at the little trunk and the tinny little eyelashes! Adorable!

    I hope you guys feel better soon!! *healthy vibes*

  8. Great recipes.. I love them

  9. I have never wanted an elephant cake so much in my life!

Leave a Reply

