Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Here we go again…..

Ugh. I feel like I have been compaining a lot lately. Since my last update, once Josh was well. I got sick.  After a round of antibiotics for my ear infection and some cough syrup for the wicked cough, I was on the mend.  We had a quiet weekend, all of us just taking it easy.  Suddenly Boogie started feeling crappy late Saturday, early Sunday.  Well, he and little brother have the flu.  When you are a kid, all you can do for the flu is take Ibuprofen and Tylenol to fight the fever, a cough syrup for the cold and then play the 5-7 day waiting game until you get better.  In the meantime, they are pretty happy to have unlimited movie time and of course we have been doing a lot of reading.  The movies are to keep their activity low.  Once the Ibuprofen kicks in they feel better for a bit and start running around like crazy boys.  Then the fever starts to rise and they are rundown and resting on the couch.  My poor wee fellows.  Get well soon.  Mummy loves you.

Now, onto the food.  Over the weekend, I made a gluten-free chocolate raspberry cake.  A friend asked me to make it for her birthday.  She is allergic to wheat and eggs.  It was fun and challenging to make.  Gluten-free is a whole different ball game when it comes to baking and decorating cakes.

As for food last week.  Since I was still on the mend, I made a 15 bean vegetable soup to eat. It was so hearty and delicious.  Easy to make as well.  Throw it in the crockpot and go lay on the couch.  🙂

One evening when I was recooperating, Josh cooked dinner.  For those of you who have been long time readers of this blog, you know, he is not much for cooking.  His main dishes are pasta and pancakes. He used the recipes I gave him and made a cheezy cauliflower casserole, quinoa, and sauteed some greens.  He even got the boys to clean their plates.  Yay!  And the meal was amazing.  The picture doesn’t come close to doing it justice.

I also made a udon noodle bowl last week.  I made a simple teriyaki sauce and added some marinated tofu, shiitake mushrooms, sprouts, sesame seeds,carrots, and snow peas.  Such goodness and the boys loved it.

I also made tacos.  Yes, I made tacos the week before as well.  We wanted something easy and tasty so tacos were perfect.  We made some homemade tortillas, mashed some black beans, and made guacamole.  I also made tofu scramble and roasted some potatoes.  They were so tasty.  The best part was the cheese.  I recently discovered a new vegan cheese spread.  For the tacos, I added ‘We Can’t Say It’s Cheese’ Cheddar Style Spread.  This stuff is boss.  If you haven’t tried it.  I highly recommend it.  I put some into a mac and cheese recipe as well.  Wow, delicious!  I discovered a coupon on their website.  Yay for savings.  Check it out.  You will be glad you did.  Happy dance for vegan cheese.

The other night I made a quick and simple curry dish.  It was kale, potatoes, and chickpeas cooked in a skillet with a little olive oil, onion, garlic and some curry spices. Simple, yet very tasty and kid-friendly.

Yesterday, Josh didn’t have to go into work until late in the afternoon. I thought I would try my hand at veganizing a new pastry.  A friend had asked me a while back if I had ever made vegan kolaches.  I didn’t, but I love a challenge. So, I did some searching and found a kolache recipe and went to work.  Success!  Super duper success!  They were perfection.  I made raspberry, vegan cream cheese, blueberry, and chocolate kolaches.  Next time I plan on making vegan sausage and cheese ones.  For those of you who are unfamiliar with kolaches, they are a Czech pastry. 

Well I am off to make some lemon poppyseed scones for the little guys.  Per their request.  Hope you each have a lovely week.

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

Little Bear “reading” The Da Vinci Code. 

My sweet Boogie.

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “Here we go again…..

  1. I’ve been meaning to veganize kolaches since I went vegan five years ago, and now in one week two people I know make them!

  2. those kolaches look awesome! i’ve never seen veganized ones before. hope your little dudes feel better soon!

  3. Hope you and the boys are feeling better! I was sick all last week and it was the worst! Still have a nasty cough. Ugh. Anyway, the food looks delish, and I’m a huge fan of the We Can’t Say Its Cheese spread too.

  4. lazysmurf on said:

    Jeez that must be rough, I hope you guys get better! Sending love your way!

  5. make poppyseed kolaches! my fav!

  6. I love how you make an “easy” dinner with homemade tortillas! You are so awesome. Hope all feel better soon.

  7. Anne Regen on said:

    Krys: Thanks for sharing. I’m sorry you’ve all been so sick. Your blog is so inspiring. Would you be able to share the tortilla recipe you use.
    Thank you!
    Anne

  8. Krys, have you tried the hickory smoked cheddar Wayfare? It’s a smoky cheddar flavor,and my favorite of the Wayfare ones I’ve tried.

  9. Krys! I can’t believe this! I always get an e-mail notification when you put up a new blog post. I haven’t had one for ages, but we’d been in contact on FaceBook, so I knew you and the guys hadn’t been well. So I assumed you hadn’t been up to blogging…
    Huh! I was so wrong! Honestly, you do more when you’re feeling ill than many folk do when they’re feeling great!
    I’m so glad I checked your blog. I’ll reset the e-mail notification thingy. Sheesh!
    I’m now inspired and will head off to make mushroom potpie (Sarah Kramer) for dinner.

  10. Wow that cake looks great. It’s the perfect chocolate cake

  11. That cake! Those kolaches! I miss kolaches so darn much! My mom used to make some stuffed with sausage, potato, and scramble.

Leave a Reply

