Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Hello Spring…..

Spring is on its way.  The weather here has been amazing.  We turned the soil. planted some seeds and are starting our Spring garden.  We will have three beds.  One for greens and various veggies, another for tomatoes, and the third for potatoes.  Yippee!

Seedlings starting to sprout.  We planted-Herbs: purple basil, thai basil, sweet basil, oregano, mint, sage, thyme, rosemary, and dill. For veggies: mustard greens, swiss chard, spinach, kale, broccoli, lettuce, cilantro, collard greens, eggplant, cherry tomatoes, and roma tomatoes. 

Tomatillo plants

Onions (red and sweet), about 50 plants.

Two cauliflower plants and one Pak Choi plant. 

We will be planting 4 different types of potatoes this weekend and then plant the seedlings in a few weeks.  I can’t wait.  Yay for fresh veggies from the backyard.

We are sharing a CSA with a friend until the garden starts.  This was our share for the week.  Nothing beats fresh, organic, local veggies.  Plus supporting a local farm.

Meals I made last week and over the weekend.  I made stuffed cabbage rolls.  Little Bear loved them.  They were so good.  They were stuffed with rice, tvp, carrots, onion, and garlic.  Topped with a lovely tomato sauce.

I made tacos for Friday night with homemade tortillas.  The tacos had chipotle butternut squash, refried black beans, salsa, and some yummy guacamole Josh made.  Mmmm.

Last week I made a simple bok choi stirfry topped with cashews over a coconut rice.  Mmm mmm.

I also made a swiss chard and potato skillet bake.  Very tasty.  It was served with a side of pan roasted chickpeas.

I also made this recipe from the New York Times.  It was perfect.  We loved it.  I served it over rice.  It was slow baked beans with kale.  Our friend gave us a ton of kale from her garden.  Here is the link:   http://www.nytimes.com/2011/02/02/health/nutrition/02recipehealth.html?_r=2&ref=kale

We don’t really celebrate Valentine’s Day in our home, but it is always fun to make heart shaped cookies for the little guys.  Boogie had fun rolling the dough.

I have made a ton of banana bread lately.  Due to the fact that our grocery store had over 8 pounds of organic bananas for just 99cents.  That is 99cents for the whole 8lb bag of organic bananas.  They were not black or overly ripe.  Score!
Well, I am off to do some studying.  Hope you have a lovely Wednesday.
peas and love….
Krys and the boys
Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Hello Spring…..

  1. That potato skillet looks DIVINE!

    I bet it would make a great breakfast, lunch OR dinner!

    Mmmm

    Thanks for the inspiration

    xo

  2. my husband asked me to make stuffed peppers but i couldn’t think what to put in them. tvp is a great idea. the skillet bake looks delicious, too. i’m envious of your lovely spring weather, but i’m glad you were able to get your garden going!

  3. I wish I had a green thumb….sigh.

  4. That is so great! I need to start the garden! Spring has hit Atlanta as well. Finally. 🙂 I am glad to see you seem to be in such a great mood today. 🙂

  5. I wish I could start planting outside, but the weather is still flippy-floppy here in Kansas. We’ve had nice temps, but we’ll see frost later this week, UGH! I’m thinking of starting some seeds inside using this method from Urban Org. Gardener: http://www.urbanorganicgardener.com/seeds/starter-pots/toilet-paper-rolls/

    Jes

  6. What things did you do to start your kids liking/eating healthy food? Do you suggest ways to get my children, 4 & 3, to not struggle so much against our foods?

  7. Melissa on said:

    I love your garden! We don’t have the resources to set up a garden this year, but until then we’re supporting our CSA! Our first box of goodies should be arriving today…

    Delicious food, as always! How do you stuff a cabbage though?

  8. Your food looks amazing!!!!

Leave a Reply

