Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Sitting on my can….

Not really. But I did do some canning this week.  I made a 3 Citrus Marmalade and Mustard.  They both turned out amazing.  I plan to make some vegan bratwurst next week to accompany the mustard.  The marmalade was perfect on the bread I baked when it came out of the oven.

Marmalade

Mustard

As usual we have been cooking.  Our CSA provides literally all the veggies for our meals which is awesome.  In a few weeks we will be eating strictly from the garden once the CSA is finished.

Tonite I made our shepherd’s pie recipe.  Simple, full of veggies, and delicious.

I also made swiss chard/potato quesadillas.  We loved them.  The boys did as well. I served them with a side of homemade tomatillo sauce and a black bean/corn quinoa.  The tortillas were also homemade.

I made a new dish that was tasty and kid-friendly.  It was blackeyed pea cakes with a chipotle vegan mayo, a side of corn, and sauteed brussel sprouts and broccoli.

We made a regular favorite around here, spicy African rolls. They are tortillas filled with steamed kale, brown rice, mashed sweet potatoes, and a spicy cilantro sauce.

The other day, I had a bit of a stomach ache so I made miso soup for dinner.  It hit the spot.

For our Fat Tuesday meal, I made red beans with rice, a side of collard greens and homemade cornbread.  It hit the spot.

We made TVP burgers with homemade buns, a side of oven baked fries and rutabaga fries, and a lovely kale and carrot salad.  Delicious!

We had turnips in our CSA box.  I found a recipe that looked tasty.  So, I made a similar version to the recipe.  The dish was Japanese style turnips with sauteed carrots and spinach, seitan, and rice noodles.  Little Bear our 2 year old loved the turnips.

For a snack last week I made some homemade crackers for the boys and edamame hummus.  It delicious and they loved it.

I will post garden pictures next time.  We planted a majority of the seedlings and the potatoes are starting to sprout. I also noticed the tomatillos are blooming.  It is our first time growing them.  I can’t wait.

Tomorrow is Saint Patrick’s Day. Hope you have fun and a lovely weekend.

peas and love….

Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Sitting on my can….

  1. You always make the best food! Such a great variety and everything sounds delicious!

  2. Krys, you are a domestic goddess! You really should have your own TV programme, demonstrating cheap, tasty and nutritious vegan meals! I always come away from reading your blog feeling inspired to get off the computer and into the kitchen! 🙂

    I’ve always loved men with beards! 🙂 Great pic of the wee guys!

Leave a Reply

