Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Back from the beach…..

We went to the beach for the latter part of last week and the weekend.  It was awesome.  The weather was perfect.  The water was perfect.  Josh needed a break from work.  It has been extra crazy there as of late.  It was also a trip to celebrate our 8 year wedding anniversary.  We had so much fun.  The boys loved it and Boogie keeps asking to go back.  Yes, please!

We always stay in a cabin with a kitchenette.  And of course bring our own food.  While we were there, we did have fish tacos.  Faux fish tacos!  Come on, did you really think I suddenly would eat fish?!?!?  No way.  I brought the ingredients and made my Baja ‘Fish’ Taco recipe.  The batter was extra thick to the filets were huge.  They were so tasty.

As usual we have been cooking.  We are still keeping up with “The 365 Day Project”.  That is not going out to eat for a whole year.  So far so good.  We were tired when we came home Sunday night, but I still threw something together.  No take away this year.

Monday I was back in the kitchen into our usual routine.  I woke up and made a nice breakfast for the guys.  Josh was sore and tired.  He popped his shoulder out of the socket.  Ouch!  I made tofu scramble, black beans, and roasted potatoes.  Mmmm.  It is a favorite breakfast around here.  All that was missing was a side of pancakes.

For lunch that day I made blackeyed peas, sauteed spicy greens, and mac & cheeze.  The greens are swiss chard.  I definitely learned a lesson that day.  Wilted swiss chard is GROSS!  Josh said it was fine to him.  I just did not like it.  The taste reminded me of canned spinach.  Blech!  I think I have gotten spoiled having fresh greens in our garden.  I just hate wasting food and was going to use the swiss chard, wilted or not.

For dinner I made pizza.  We went to the store that afternoon to get some mozerella Daiya for the pizzas.  All they had was cheddar.  So, I made one of our favorite pizzas:   BBQ chickUN, pineapple pizza.  It is so good.  I made a cilantro pesto for the sauce, it had fresh spinach, pineapple, seitan, chives from the garden, serrano pepper, Daiya, and homemade BBQ sauce.  The boys wanted a cheeze pizza which they are over half of it.

Last night for dinner I made edamame fried rice, hoisen baked tofu, and sauteed bok choi.  It was very tasty.  The boys loved the meal.

Last Wednesday for dinner I threw together a quick but tasty dish. We were busy packing for the beach so I wanted something filling and good. I made blackeyed peas, sauteed greens, roasted potatoes, and a small side of fried mushrooms.  YUM!

Last week I made a yellow curry vegetable bowl with a side of homemade mini eggrolls.  Such goodness.

Look for a big garden post next time.  Our garden is looking great.  The onions are getting big.  The greens look amazing and the potatoes are going crazy.  We also have tomatillos producing.  Yay!  I love Spring.

Well I am off to create a cinnamon swirl bread recipe.  Hope you have a lovely Wednesday.

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “Back from the beach…..

  1. Long time without making comments here but I always enjoy reading about you, the boys and the food. I’m sure you all had an amazing time in the beach!

  2. Glad you had such a great holiday and I hope Josh’s shoulder’s back to normal now.

    Wonderful looking food, as always! There was a phone-in programme on Radio Scotland this morning, because of PETA’s poster saying that feeding your child meat was child abuse. Lots of people phoning in to say NOT feeding them meat was bad. 😦 I have laryngitis, so couldn’t phone in. If only you’d still been living in Scotland you could have done so! (But your garden wouldn’t have been nearly so productive yet!)

  3. lazysmurf on said:

    I’m so glad you had a great trip! I can’t wait to go the beach!

  4. such fun Krys, hope you all enjoyed yourselves at the beach…and the food as always…fabulous!

  5. Glad you had a good time. Isn’t it great to relax a bit? And may I say you are rockin’ the swimsuit, girl!

  6. I see some green goddess enchiladas in your future with those tomatillos. yum!

  7. Not eating out for 365 days! Oh… I couldn’t do that if I wanted.

    Our beaches here in Michigan don’t open for some time – water is too cold, you know – but glad you and your family could hit the beach!

    Wish I was there.

  8. What a nice way to celebrate your anniversary! Congratulations! That pizza looks amazing! I think I will trust you and stay away from wilted swiss chard.

  9. Selema on said:

    krys,

    your two little ones are the cutest i have ever seen! their smiles are absolutely precious..who could resist? How do you make your homemade tortillas?

Leave a Reply

