Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Goodbye Spring, hello Summer….

The weather has suddenly turned warm here.  It is in the 90s Farenheit.  I think Spring is gone.  The garden is still going well, but I fear the Spring veggies will fail soon.  This Saturday is the last week of our CSA we were sharing.  Now we can try to polish off as many Spring veggies as possible before the real heat sets in.  The tomatoes are blooming and loving all the heat.  That is a great thing. 

A week ago we harvested some cauliflower from the garden and made some Indian food.  It was so tasty.  And as I always say, nothing beats fresh veggies from the garden.  Nothing.

For dinner that night, we made Kashmiri Gobi, potato bondas, cauliflower leaf pakoras, with a side of tamarind chutney.  It was delicious.

We have been trying to eat as much from the CSA and garden as possible.  Since the hot weather is here, I don’t want the greens to go to waste.  For lunch the other day, I made  a tasty peanutty kale noodle bowl.  We all really enjoyed it.

For another lunch I made a simple curry bowl using greens from the garden.  It was great.

We haven’t grilled in what seems like a lifetime.  So we fired up the grill last Sunday.  We grilled portabello caps, corn on the cob, and baby red potatoes.  It was amazing.  After dinner the boys watched Daddy grill marshmallow dandies over the fire for them. Yum!

The other night I made blackened tofu.  A vegan friend is always veganizing Cajun food and it looks amazing.  So, I thought I would give it a go.  Wowza.  It was awesome. I made blackened tofu & mushrooms, with a side of grits, sauteed spicy collard greens, and corn.  Mmm mmm.

The other day I created a stuffed collard greens recipe.  I topped it with a homemade sundried tomato pesto.  It was one of my favorite meals I have made in a long time.  The flavors were a perfect combination.

Another bowl I made.  It looks like I decided to make several meals in a bowl over the last few weeks.  Hee hee. This was an Asian style CSA stirfry with marinated tofu over rice noodles.  I used carrots, broccoli, bok choi, and the chives from our CSA.  It was great.

Two days in a row I was on a pancake kick.  One day I had promised the boys pancakes for dinner.  They had been begging.  So, I made peanut butter, banana, chocolate chip pancakes.  Holy moly were these freaking awesome.

For our second set of pancakes.  I made strawberry oat pancakes.  We went strawberry picking with Godmommy Mary and some friends.  We had a blast.  So for Sunday breakfast, I made the strawberry oat pancakes.  Best pancakes ever.  I thought the pb banana chocolate chip ones were good, these blew them out of the water. 

As I mentioned we have a ton of greens and veggies from the CSA.  Josh had mentioned wanting a salad.  He got more than he asked for on this one.  I swear this salad was 2 days of your vegetable serving and then some.  It weighed a ton and was delicious.  We were so full afterwards.  I made a mustard vinagrette to go on top.

Another dish I made using greens was a curried red beans and greens dish.  I threw it all in the crockpot.  It was great.  I used some lovely mustard greens and cilantro from our garden.

A friend asked me to make an anniversary cake for his wife.  She loves their pet chihuahua. It is her baby, so he asked me to make a chihuahua cake.  I think it turned out pretty cute for doing it free hand.  🙂

Last night I made stroganoff. I have not had stroganoff it what seems like forever.  It was great.  I used some spinach from the garden, noodles, mushrooms, garlic, homemade mushroom soup, and sour cream. The boys liked it too.

 

 Today is Earth Day.  Happy Earth Day to all of you.  Hope you each have a lovely Passover and Easter.  I am off to do a giant “to do” list.
 
peas and love….
Krys and the boys
Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “Goodbye Spring, hello Summer….

  1. Still winter in the north!
    Everything looks absolutely delicious!
    Happy earth day.

  2. Damn, that chihuahua was freehand?! Nice job!!

  3. Michele on said:

    We are still getting snow threats and all my plant starts died. I desperately want to move some place warmer!

  4. lazysmurf on said:

    Happy Earth Day! I can’t believe how hot it has already gotten! My veggies have all stopped growing it seems. I wish it would rain!

  5. Please send that warm weather up North, it is pretty chilly here in WI still. The cake you made is fantastic, what talent you have. Plus, the blackened tofu sounds delicious, will have to try making that soon. Happy Earth Day!

  6. Krys, everything looks great…you are a mighty great cook…would you ever consider opening a vegan restaurant?

  7. Melissa on said:

    Everything looks delicious… especially the stroganoff! Yum!! When are you going to do a cookbook?! 🙂

  8. Amazing food – everything looks delicious! That cauliflower is almost as big as Arthur!
    XX

  9. Arthur the Gardener looks so happy with his huge cauliflower!

    I love pancakes for dinner! You guys sure know how to eat deliciously.

    How sweet of you to make a chihuahua cake for your friend’s wife! Aww, if my mother in law sees it she’s going to want me to make her one too! 😀

  10. omg that stroganoff looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

