Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Good morning……

How are you?  It is another warm day here.  It’s going to be 105F.  Ugh. We are staying indoors hiding.  We have been taking the boys to the park in the evening around 7pm once it has cooled to a balmy 90-95F. 

A friend posted a link on our Facebook cooking page that I found interesting and am going to do.  It is a 3 day diary of what a vegan typically eats.  I will post the results on Saturday morning.  I will list in the diary what Josh and I ate as well as what the boys eat.  Sometimes they don’t eat the exact same meal as we do.   It is pretty much an answer to the question, “What do vegans eat?”  You know as a vegan and vegetarian, you have been asked at least a thousand times, “What do you eat?  How do you get your protein?”  So, I will share with the world what we typically eat in a day.  Here is the link to the page if you are interested http://bonzaiaphrodite.com/2010/05/what-does-a-vegan-diet-look-like/  .  Let me know if you plan to share your vegan food diary. I would love to see it.

As I mentioned in my last post, our landlord gave us some lovely eggplant and tomatoes fron her garden.  She gave us figs too.  I plan to create a fig bar recipe today.  I am going to call them, “Fig Normans”.  Silly, I know.  Okay, back to the eggplant.  I decided to make eggplant parmesan with the lovely eggplant using Daiya cheese.  I also roasted the tomatoes she gave us and made a delicious marinara which will go with our pizza and calzones this Friday.  The eggplant parm proved difficult.  I made the batter and when I went to fry it up, about half of it fell off.  The meal still was quite tasty, I just need to find a better way to make the batter stick.  Or, I think next time I may just bake them in the oven.

Roasted garlic and tomatoes make for the best marinara ever. We also used fresh herbs from our front porch mini herb garden.

Eggplant parm

Last night I made our “Gentle Shepherd’s Pie” recipe.  This time I added mushrooms, seasoned tvp, and used a 1/2 cup tomato sauce instead of a whole tomato.  It turned out amazing, better than the original.  The boys loved it too.

Well, I am off to make some kale chips for the boys and do some baking before it gets to hot.  I will leave you with a sign a friend posted.  I love it and how true it is. Hope you have a lovely day.

peas and love….

Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Good morning……

  1. Kim Simon on said:

    Well you know that I will be keeping track of my food diary for the next 3 days! I hope lots of other people participate! I can always use new food ideas! YAY!

  2. Cool idea! I have never really wondered what vegans eat, but I did go vegetarian for 3 years and people were always asking me that question too. It’s kind of silly. Even though I do eat meat and dairy, I lean toward no meat and since pregnancy, have eaten way less dairy because dd doesn’t tolerate it very well. If I took the time to learn the meat substitutions, it wouldn’t be much of a leap for us.

    I will check back later to see the results!

  3. its real hot here too…its 94 today and I have been hibrinating with my ac to stay cool. Big hugs to the boys….love them.

Leave a Reply

