Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Hello August…..

August is here and it is as hot as hell.  It is 107F here today and it is supposed to be 108F tomorrow.  Ugh.  We go to the park early in the morning so the boys can play outdoors a bit without melting.  We are having a drought here.  It is just awful.  I am so ready for Fall and Winter.  Send rain please.

We have been cooking as usual.  Onward through the heat.  The other day for lunch I made some chipotle pesto and hummus.  It was so tasty.  A local coffee shop here makes an amazing chipotle pesto and this was my attempt in replicating it.  Delicious!

I also attempted to replicate another meal they make.  They make zucchini migas with eggs.  I made a vegan version.  This was hands down, the best migas ever!  I also made tempeh bacon.  It was super tasty as well.  I served this along with our blueberry oat pancake recipe.  Mmm mmm.

The other evening I mde a red curry vegetable stirfry with coconut milk.  Such goodness.

Josh cooked dinner one evening for us.  He made a simple ziti with homemade pepperoni. It was very tasty.  Yay Josh!

As I mentioned it is very hot here, so we decided to eat sushi last week.  Veggie sushi is delicious. 

We go to the library once a week.  When we go, I always check out the cookbook section to find cookbooks with recipes from other countries.  Last week I checked out a Chinese cookbook and veganized a General Tso’s recipe.  It was good.

 

Last but not least, I made us Chana Masala.  It is a simple recipe, but very tasty.  I served it with a side of roasted cauliflower.  That is one of our favorite ways to eat cauliflower. 

Well, I am off to make some tortillas and mash some pinto beans for refried beans.  Tonite we are having lentil tacos with all the fixin’s.  Hope you have a lovely Monday.  Stay cool.

peas and love….

Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “Hello August…..

  1. Kevin Carr on said:

    Howdy from Australia Krys.
    I did leave a comment and request for your Tortilla recipe on the 9th July but had no reply as yet. Sorry to ask again but I drool when ever I read you are making them.
    Fresh Tortilla’s sound way better than supermarket Mission style. Many thanks again for a wonderful site. Kevin.

    • Sorry about that Kevin. Here you go. It is a friend’s recipe. Just one warning, homemade tortillas are so good, you will eat them all at once. 🙂

      Homemade Tortillas
      1c flour
      1c whole wheat flour
      2t baking powder, scant
      1 tsp salt
      1/3c vegetable shortening
      1c HOT water
      Mix all the ingredients together to form a dough. Knead until smooth. Leave the dough in a mixing bowl and cover with a damp towel for 10 minutes. Separate into ping pong size balls. Roll out on a floured surface as thin as possible. Cook until slightly browned on each side on a hot griddle. Tortillas should puff up when cooking, if not, then they are not rolled thin enough.Happy tortilling 🙂

  2. Sounds like you are eating great! 🙂

  3. Kim Simon on said:

    MMMMM I adore roasted califlower! That is the best way to have it!

  4. You are eating so well in that heat! It’s just too hot for me to eat anything other than salad and sandwiches (hence my blogging absence). I’m coming to live at yours for the summer 🙂
    xx

  5. Deepa R on said:

    Hello!! I am looking for the vegan enchilada recipe…can’t seem to locate it.

  6. Kevin Carr on said:

    Well a huge Thank You Krys.
    Made the Tortillas and they were just wonderful.
    I’d never buy them from a supermarket again.

  7. Pingback: Sunny Days in Texas: Zucchini Migas | Lazy Smurf's Guide to Life

Leave a Reply

