Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Long time, no post….

Sorry about that.  I promise I won’t got 21 days without posting again. I will post weekly.  Things have been crazy around here, but I think we are now getting back on track.  Okay, here we go.  Get ready for 3 weeks worth of food.  That means a lot of pictures.  🙂

Last night I decided to make breakfast tacos for dinner.  I made our zucchini migas recipe. I also crumbled and marinated some tempeh to accompany it, as well has making some homemade refried beans and tortillas.  We topped it with fresh mashed avocado and salsa.  Yum!  We are having leftovers for lunch today.

For lunch one day, I made mac & cheeze for the boys.  I know, you’re probably thinking, “Big deal, who cares about mac & cheeze?”  Well I finally made  a nooch sauce that I think tasted amazing.  The boys loved the mac & cheeze, I also threw in some chickpeas.

One day last week, I made tacos for us.  They turned out to be quite tasty.  We had an acorn squash that needed to be used, so I made roasted acorn squash and pinto tacos. 

 

Since we have been so busy lately, I am trying to make at least one crockpot dish a week and one casserole dish a week.  Something you can throw together on a Sunday and pop in the oven later in the week.  One of those meals were some tasty black bean enchiladas.  When I posted the recipe on our Facebook cooking page, several people asked for the recipe.  It is very simple.  The day before, I cooked a pound of black beans in the crockpot.  I seasoned them with onion, cilantro, cumin, chili powder, salt and pepper.  The next morning, I made a very easy enchilada sauce.  It was tomato sauce with onion powder, garlic powder, cumin, and a lot of chili powder mixed in.  I just added everything to taste.  For the enchilada part, I made homemade tortillas, put some of the seasoned black beans in each tortilla with a pinch of Daiya cheddar.  Place in a lightly greased casserole dish.  Pour enchilada sauce on top.  Ours were swimming in the sauce.  Top the enchiladas with fresh cilantro, Daiya cheddar, and pepitas.  I went light on the Daiya since the enchiladas were very flavorful on their own.  Bake at 350F for about 20-25 minutes.

Here we have what I call the “burger fiasco” dinner.  The meal turned out great, but only after the first burger attempt which was a disaster.  Josh tried to make black bean burgers.  He always says he is not good in the kitchen.  He is great at three things:   making pancakes, pasta, and chopping veggies.  That is all.  When he tried to make black bean burgers they turned into a big mushy, runny mess.  So, I quickly made our tvp burger recipe and dinner was saved.  I served it with some roasted potatoes and fried okra.

Here, we have lemon poppyseed waffles.  The boys, especially Boogie had been begging for them.  On a Sunday, I made a double batch so he could have some later in the week.  Two happy boys!

This was a quick, easy, and clean out the fridge kind of meal.  I call it, “Kitchen Sink Curry”.  It is by no means authentic, but darn tasty.

This meal was our crockpot meal of the week.  I made “crockpot ratatouille”.  Oh wow did this smell great simmering in the kitchen all day.  And the taste was perfect.  We ate it with some homemade garlic bread.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

Hope you have a lovely day.

 

Here are me and my guys protesting the circus.  I love my boys.

 

peas and love….

Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

12 thoughts on “Long time, no post….

  1. The circus sucks! And, thanks for the delicious posts!

  2. Krys…glas to see a post again!! Can I get the recipe for the nooch sauce and crockpot ratatouille? Thanks

  3. you guys eat so good…I love all this food.

  4. ooooh post the nooch sauce recipe. I am still in love with the one you gave me long ago. Super simple and addicting.

  5. So glad you are back! 🙂

  6. Hey! I took a blog hiatus too. Seems like time passes so quickly! Everything looks delicious! I’d also be interested in the nooch and zucchini mig a recipes.

    Kudos on the protest, sorry to hear about the elephant 😦

    • twoveganboys on said:

      Cassie I will send the recipes your way. Hope you are doing well. It sucks to hear about the animals suffering for the entertainment of humans. 😦

Leave a Reply

