Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Getting ready…

for a challenge.  I have started a section on this page called, “The La Dolce Vegan Challenge”.  Recently, we were invited to participate in a cook through of Sarah Kramer’s book, ‘La Dolce Vegan’.  We decided to give it a go. It is a great book full of recipes and remedies.  The challenge starts tomorrow.  You can check to see what we have made.  Please stay tuned to this part of our page.  I will still be posting food we make not related to the challenge as well as all the happenings in our little world.  Now, onto the food.

Today is supposed to be the last of our hot days here.  Thank goodness.  This past Saturday and Sunday, it was 112F.  That is not a typo. Tomorrow we are hopefully supposed to get rain.  Fingers crossed!  Last night I made a cool and light dinner, tofu lettuce wraps.  They were perfection.  The boys loved the tofu part and Booige loved the lettuce as well.  He is our kid who enjoys raw veggies and eating them straight from the garden.

Speaking of fresh from the garden.  One of our dear friend’s who lives just a few blocks away from us, is letting us use a section of her yard to garden.  She started a little community garden with our family.  How awesome is that?!  We are so lucky to know her family.  She and her husband are amazing people and they have a beautiful daughter that is the same age as Boogie.  He adores her.  That being said, I will soon be posting Fall garden pictures. Yippee!  Happy dance.  I planted seeds in little peat boxes last week.  I can’t wait!

This past Sunday I made one of our favorite breakfasts, pancakes and tofu scramble.  Mmm, such goodness.  The leftovers are even tasty!

 

The other evening, I made a simple but tasty dish. It is really good and is always a hit around here. The meal was roasted hoisin eggplant and edamame fried rice. I found a hoisin sauce recipe online.  It was easy to make and quite tasty.

Another easy and minimal work meal I made a few days ago was red beans and rice.  I love a meal you can just throw in the crockpot and walk away.  I added some homemade seitan and kale to the dish.  And made some cornbread muffins to accompany it.  Tasty!

I think the meals this time around followed a trend, quick, tasty, and easy.  Because, here is yet another one that follows in that category:   BBQ soy curls sandwich with corn, and blackeyed peas. 

Well, I am off to make breakfast for my two cutie pies.  I can’t believe our big boy Boogie turns 5 this weekend.  For those of you who have been longtime readers of our page, where has the time gone?  Wow!  Hope you have a lovely Wednesday.

peas and love….

Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “Getting ready…

  1. Wow! It has been hot here in Atlanta too. Good luck working on the book! The boys are getting so big! 🙂

    http://haymarket8.blogspot.com/

  2. mike mckenney on said:

    new vegan here, just finished the china study and went looking for blogs…yours was one of the first i came across…love the feel…can anyone join in the cookbook, recipie challege….new to all the vegan world and experience…can’t wait to chat with you all again soon.
    Mike

    • twoveganboys on said:

      Hi Mike-
      Welcome to our page. Yes, anyone can join the challenge. Just send a comment to the page that I gave the link for where the challenge is starting.

      I look forward to hearing more from you. If you happen to be on Facebook, we have a page there as well. It is under Cooking with Two Vegan Boys.

      🙂

      • mike mckenney on said:

        this isn’t prob. the place, but what do you do when u are hungry and out where there are no veggie options…i had a blt last night and took the bacon off…does that count? lol…i live in phx…its always hot here
        ..

      • twoveganboys on said:

        Mike-If I know I am going to a certain place with friends beforehand, I call in advance and ask them which options are veggie. If you go to a Mexiacn restaurant, ask if their beans and rice are veggie, not using lard or chicken broth. Other places, usually salads and breads are safe. I always ask the waitstaff.

  3. As we’ve both said before – where does the time go? Cannot BELIEVE how grown-up both your boys look – and so cute too!! Those easy-fix dishes are exactly what I need right now, I’ve just started a new job which means I need quite a few easy dishes in my rep to whip out on certain nights. Those soy-curl sandwiches seem quite the ticket, only I’d sub fried tofu cuz they don’t do soy curls in the UK (sooo frustrating!!). I’m alway envious of your garden, in our climate we only seem to be able to grow kale, cabbage and potatoes. Luckily, we love all of the above so it’s not too bad! Dx

    • twoveganboys on said:

      I know, it is crazy how time is flying by and they are no longer babies. 😦 I miss my cuddly, chubby fellows. What are you doing at your new job? I hope it is something you love. I do love fried tofu on sandwiches. I attempted to replicate a fried tofu nuggets that a local grocery co-op does. They turned out pretty tasty and amazing on sandwiches. 🙂 If I lived in Scotland, which would be awesome, I would love the kale, cabbage, and potatoes. After this horrible summer, I am so ready to move to a much cooler climate.

      So glad to hear from you. xo

  4. Hi, I do admire all your cooking. Our family is slowly moving towards the vegan world. How do you make seitan? Do you make tempha too?
    Thanks!

    • twoveganboys on said:

      Hi. For the seitan, I use the “Simple Simmered Seitan” recipe from the cookbook ‘Vegan on the Cheap’ by Robin Robertson. It is a great book, delicious and easy recipes. I buy tempeh from the store. 🙂

Leave a Reply

