Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Happy Birthday Boogie…..

Our oldest son turned 5 this past Saturday.  For those of you who have been longtime followers of our page, where has the time gone?  I can’t believe he is 5.  Wow!  His birthday was low key.  Which we all enjoyed.  We had cake, played and finished off the day reading books and building legos.  He wanted me to make him a giant cupcake.  I used a sugar paper to write “Happy Birthday” in Chinese and to draw Po.  He wanted a ‘Kung Fu Panda’ cake. 

Yesterday, I was a finalist in a local gourmet grocery store cooking contest.  It was the Central Market 16th Annual Hatch Chili Recipe Contest.  Last year, my pot pie recipe placed 3rd.  This year, we didn’t place in the top three but we were in the top 8 out of several hundred recipes.  Not to shabby for being the only vegan there.  The recipe I submitted was a ‘Hatch Avocado Chocolate Cupcake with a Chocolate Avocado Icing’.  Think spicy and sweet.  Yum.

 I mentioned last week that I am in the ‘La Dolce Vegan Challenge’.  It is a challenge that the Vegan Culinary Institute is hosting.  Today is day 5.  The contest started on September 1.  It has been great so far.  The recipes have been tasty and fun to make.  There is a section on my page especially for the challenge.  Check it out!  Also, stop by the culinary institute’s page.  They are awesome.  http://www.vegan-culinary-institute.com/

Last night I made a pasta dish from the La Dolce Vegan Challenge, I served it with a side of  homemade vegan pepperoni pizza.   I love the combination of pizza and pasta.

Last week, I created a new cupcake recipe, I call it, ‘Chocolate Orange Dreamsicle Cupcakes’.  The combination of chocolate and orange is so good.

My sweet Little Bear after a long day of playing.  Sleepy bear. 

Well, it is Labor Day today and it is actually nice and cool out, so we are going for a bike ride.  Hope you have a lovely day.

peas and love….

Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Boogie…..

  1. Happy Birthday, Boogie!! He is such a Big Boy now! Those hatch chocolate avocado cupcakes look amazing – I feel like I could lick the frosting off the screen, yum! Well done for placing so highly, too! I’m going to be cheeky and ask if there’s any chance I could have the recipe for your chocolate orange dreamsicle cupcakes, though? Would you be able to post it, or email me? Or is the recipe on your fb page? I haven’t baked anything for AGES and seeing that picture has made me want to make THOSE cupcakes! x

    • twoveganboys on said:

      DJ,
      Hello friend. Of course you can have the recipe. I will email it to you today. So glad to hear from you. Sending lots of hugs to you and the kidlets.

      xo

Leave a Reply

