Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Oh, homemade tortillas….

how I love thee.  The recipe today for the La Dolce Vegan Challenge was ‘Karen’s Mexican Burrito Pie’.  It was delcious.  It called for tortillas.  So, I went to work making tortillas.  We love homemade tortillas around here.  The recipe was delicious.  I made a nooch cheeze sauce instead of using a shredded vegan cheeze, mainly because I forgot to buy some at the grocery store.  The dish was still amazing,  I doubled the recipe and am glad I did.  Thanks for another great recipe choice Vegan Culinary  Institute!

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “Oh, homemade tortillas….

  1. I thought about making homemade tortillas but I have no idea how to do it! yours looks tasty!

    • twoveganboys on said:

      Thanks. Here is the recipe I use. 🙂
      Homemade Tortillas
      1c flour
      1c whole wheat flour
      2t baking powder, scant
      1 tsp salt
      1/3c vegetable shortening
      1c HOT water

      Mix all the ingredients together to form a dough. Knead until smooth. Leave the dough in a mixing bowl and cover with a damp towel for 10 minutes. Separate into ping pong size balls. Roll out on a floured surface as thin as possible. Cook until slightly browned on each side on a hot griddle. Tortillas should puff up when cooking, if not, then they are not rolled thin enough.

      • Anonymous on said:

        cant wait to try that this weekend…i am slowly weaning my family from meat…lol…over the past two weeks i have almost eliminated it from our diet…recipies like this help….i wish there were recipies associated with the china study, it is what made me go vegan in the first place…your recipies are great! I have tried several so far. thanks!

  2. Whoa! That looks awesome! Burrito pie! Yum! I bet the kids gobbled that up!

    http://haymarket8.blogspot.com

  3. I was going to ask for the tortilla recipe. I can’t wait to try it.

Leave a Reply

