Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Spoiled apples…..

(picture courtesy of Yahoo images)

Well the apples aren’t spoiled, TVB dad is.  The other day he saw a jar of organic applesauce in the fridge and poured a bowl for himself and Little Bear.  After tasting some, he came to me and said, “Try this.  Does it taste bad to you?”  I tasted a spoonful and told him that this is the way store bought appleasauce tastes.  He exclaimed, “This is horrible.  It tastes bad.  It is so bland.”  That made me laugh.  Two years ago, I started making homemade applesauce for my guys.  Last week I bought applesauce from the store because it is not apple season and the cost of organic apples is highway robbery.

After his apple rant, he then says, “Let’s buy apples this weekend.  I’ll even peel all of them for you.  Just no more store bought crap.”  My guys are spoiled.  😛

We have had this conversation in the past about how homemade bread is 1000 times better than store bought.  It’s true.

Tis the life of  a mum who cooks all the time and takes care of her guys.  It’s a busy life and I love every minute of it.

What foods do you make at home and refuse to buy store bought?

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

 

Single Post Navigation

18 thoughts on “Spoiled apples…..

  1. Bread, energy bars and other hiking/biking snacks, backpacking meals, vegetable stock … the list goes on!

    When you have time, there are so many things that you can easily make that taste better and are better for you 🙂

    • twoveganboys on said:

      We are the same. The only thing I haven’t made yet is pasta. That is next on my list. But we pretty much make everything else. It is amazing how much better homemade tastes. Never processed or unwanted preservatives. 🙂

  2. I showed one of my friends how to make applesauce; she was SHOCKED at how simple it was. Then her 3-year-old ate half the quart! 🙂

    I usually make my own hummus, too. I’m not a fan of tahini in hummus & most store-bought hummuses have tahini as well as lots of added oil.

    • twoveganboys on said:

      It always makes me giggle when people see how easy it is to make something. I love homemade hummus. The boys would eat it everyday if they had their way. They call it, “dip”.

  3. SALAD DRESSING! I can’t believe the junk that goes into store-bought salad dressing. My favorite right now is the Balsamic Vinaigrette from Appetite For Reduction. Uses cashews instead of oil. yum!!

    • twoveganboys on said:

      Homemade dressing is the best. Yum. The stuff in the store is so freaking expensive it is ridiculous. The one from Appetite for Reduction sounds amazing. Mmmmm.

  4. haha.. you take good care of your boys.. and omg.. storebought applesauce is so gross! I’m spoiled too.. actually, my X MIL makes the BEST applesauce ever and her tradition used to be when my kids were younger to take them apple picking every fall and make enough applesauce to last the year with them!

    • twoveganboys on said:

      That would be awesome to live in a place where you can pick your own apples. And it is true, even the organic store bought is gross. And you can’t beat the amazing smell of apples simmering in the kitchen. Heavenly.

  5. That’s a good deal you got… no more apple peeling!

  6. That’s so funny – the other night a guy at my work brought in a load of chocolate crispie cakes that he and his pals had made and I took the leftovers for Rupert to take to his work. He came home to tell me that the cakes were horrible as ‘you could tell it was made with really cheap chocolate’. I had to smile – my baking only ever uses good quality dark chocolate and it’s moments like these when you realise it’s worth it and the fam do actually tell the difference!

    • twoveganboys on said:

      Yes, it is so true. I have had Josh say the same about some of the food the drug reps bring to his work. It is so worth buying better quality.

  7. I dream of hearing a comment like that. I grew up on frozen tv dinners and I am only learning to cook now that I have 2 kids. So hopefully they will love what I cook for them too.

  8. The only way you can make homemade foods is if there is no outside job to go to, like a 9-5 Mon-Fri.
    I have made my job situation easier to have my days free so I can bring my mom to doctor’s appointments etc… I work form 4-7 AM yes wee early in the morning…. and 5-9 PM. Then I think up of what to cook/bake in the afternoons. Most of my stuff is gross right now because I am a vegan beginner, but I will prevail and create great grub for my blog for everyone to try. Soon….

    • twoveganboys on said:

      It is hard to cook/bake with a full time job. My job is the boy. 🙂 I look forward to hearing about your baking and cooking.

  9. Mostly things like cakes, which I cannot find vegan versions of for purchase around here. But you bet your bundt if I could buy rather than make, I would in a heartbeat. Cooking/baking are just way too time consuming and physically demanding for me. Fortunately I’m not too picky-I happily eat the gross apple sauce. 🙂

Leave a Reply

