Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

I need energy….

Well,  I did the other day.  It was 106F.  I was pulling the little guys in the bike trailer to take Boogie to his Waldorf Homeschool.  I was okay for the ride in, I had a banana, seaweed, and almond butter, but the ride back drained me. I am getting used pulling  115 pounds, that is the weight of the boys and the trailer combined.  I was just feeling the heat that day.

So, yesterday I decided to make an energy bar recipe.  It turned out tasty and wasn’t overly sweet.  I think next time,  I will throw some dates into the mix.  They are soft and chewy.  Today it is cooler, 99F.  Which is funny to say, but compared to 106F, I’ll take it.

Here is the recipe.  Enjoy!

Energy Bars

1c oats

1c grapenuts type cereal

1/2t cinnamon

1/8t nutmeg

1 flax egg

1/4c applesauce

1/4c agave nectar

2T soymilk

1T coconut flakes

1T sesame seeds

1T pumpkin seeds

1/4c sunflower seeds

1/4c raisins

1/4c dried cranberries

1/4c dried dates, chopped

1/4c almond butter

Preheat oven to 350F.  Lightly grease a 8X8 baking dish.  In a large bowl, combine the dry ingredients.  In a small saucepan, melt the almond butter and agave nectar.  Once melted, remove from stove, stir in the applesauce, soymilk, and flax, stir to combine.  Add the almond butter mixto the dry ingrediets.  Thoroughly combine.  Spread evenly into the baking dish.  Bake for 25 minutes.  Once they are done baking, score the bars.  Let completely cool before removing from the pan.  Store in an airtight container.  `

(c) Two Vegan Boys 2011

Hope you enjoy these as much as we did.  Now, we just need some cooler temperatures.  Come on Fall!

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “I need energy….

  1. Yeah, I heard about that “cold snap” you were having, haha!

    These bars look delicious! Thanks for sharing!

  2. yummy looking bar! I like that there isn’t a bunch of added sugar to these. Just a proper good energy bar without all the crap (the way it should be!)

Leave a Reply

