Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Shrooms….

The meal today for the La Dolce Vegan Challenge was stuffed mushrooms.  The recipe is called “Melissa’s Stuffed Mushrooms”.  We liked them, the boys loved the stuffing, but not the mushrooms. That is not to surprising for a 2 and 5 year old. As a kid, you couldn’t get me to touch mushrooms if my life depended on it.  These were tasty.  The only change I made was cooking them an extra 7 minutes to brown the stuffing a little more.

Last night I made the boys a treat.  It is our version of popcorn tofu.  The local grocery co-op makes an amazing popcorn tofu recipe.  I tried replicating it a while back and this comes pretty close.  Plus it doesn’t cost us $9.99 a pound.  The boys love it.  Boogie requested it for his lunch this week to take to school.  🙂

Today I also made bread for sandwiches, scones, and field roast.  Monday is usually my baking day and snack food cooking day.  I also started painting the pantry door with chalkboard paint.  The boys are going to love it.  I can’t wait for them to start drawing and practicing their letters.

Hope you have a lovely evening.

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Shrooms….

  1. that popcorn tofu looks and sounds amazing! I gotta try that!

  2. That popcorn tofu looks really delicious – my absolute favourite way to eat tofu is dusted with a zingy coating and fried and this looks like it would hit the spot perfectly! The chalkboard paint idea is BRILLIANT! Up until recently Meg and Rory had a whiteboard in our dining room and it was fantastic for encouraging them to practise their language and math skills in an easy and fun way – as well as drawing wacky and spontaneous little doodles! I think your boys will LOVE IT!!!

    • twoveganboys on said:

      The popcorn tofu is one of the boys favorite treats. And Boogie loves the chalkboard pantry door. As soon as Josh got home yesterday, he showed his daddy the new door. And told him he was going to draw on it and practice his letters. 🙂

  3. Krys I love your new blog look…very fansy.

Leave a Reply

