Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

All hail Caesar….

Caesar salad that is.  This was a quite tasty meal.  It is all thanks to the La Dolce Vegan Challenge.  Today’s recipe was a Romaine Lettuce Salad with Caesar Salad Dressing and Frying Pan Croutons.  The dressing was superb.  I couldn’t find the lemons I bought last week, so I subbed rice vinegar for the lemon juice.  Wowza!  Josh said it tasted just like Caesar salad dressing minus the anchovies.  Yuck!  The frying pan croutons were delicous too. I will admit I was a bit skeptical about croutons made in a frying pan. I usually make mine in the oven.  They were good.

Here are the croutons sauteeing in the pan.  Mmmm mmm.

Here is the dressing just after it was blended.  I was thrown back by how dark the dressing was, but then I remembered it had tamari in it.  Hence the dark color. I am used to Caesar dressing being lighter.  Still tasty!

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “All hail Caesar….

  1. A recipe would be nice.

  2. I thought the same thing when I first started blending the dressing…”oh crap, why is it so dark!?” but then I tasted it and didn’t care at all what colour it was 🙂

Leave a Reply

