Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Sloppy, sloppy Jane….

This meal was a bit odd to me. I wasn’t so sure about tofu as a base for sloppy joes, I usually have seen or used tvp or lentils.  The recipe took a bit longer to cook than the book stated and it was just okay.  The upside, my boys loved it.  As for me and Josh, not so much.

I feel like I am in a slump right now with this challenge.  It is as if there is hardly anyone participating or wanting to participate.  I am not throwing in the towel, I think I am just a bit frustrated because three of the recipes this week were, “meh”.  As I have mentioned before in this blog, I am picky, very picky.  I like a lot of fire in my food and a lot of spice.  So, I am in no way taking a shot at the author of the recipes.  I am kind of glad this is a catch up weekend, I plan to relax and take a break from the kitchen, with the exception of Sunday  morning breakfast.

Well, I am off to relax and hopefully sleep in tomorrow.  This has been a long and exhausting week. I am ready to relax this weekend and take it easy.  Thankfully, the weather will be pleasant.  Hope you have a lovely weekend.

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “Sloppy, sloppy Jane….

  1. Too bad you didn’t like this one much. I remember doing it and really enjoying it… there are lots of great recipes in this book.

    Some of the upcoming recipes (Jay-Lo’s fried “chicken”, Claire’s macaroni and Cheeze and the granola) are some of my favorite recipes from this book.

    • twoveganboys on said:

      Like I mentioned, I am picky, so it is not an attack against the writer of the recipe. There have been some great recipe, so I’m not throwing in the towel. I do look forward to the “chicken”. 🙂

  2. valley vegan on said:

    I ‘ m like you , I like spicy .what I do is fix the recipe then taste it so i can blog about it .then if it needs spicing up after I taste it I just add red hot pepper flakes to it or the needs a little extra spice to it [i did that on the sloppy janes]

    • twoveganboys on said:

      Thanks Valley Vegan. I need to start doing that. I like the recipes, I just think some need a little kick to them. 🙂

  3. I have been in a total cooking slump as well. We will all make it out, I am sure. I use TVP in my sloppy joes too, never tried tofu.

    http://haymarket8.blogspot.com

    • twoveganboys on said:

      Vic-I definitely prefer tvp over tofu any day. I can’t imagine you being in a cooking slump. Your food always looks amazing.

  4. I think this week was like that for everyone, it’s kind of a weird week of mostly heavy recipes with not a lot of easy ones mixed in. The recipes this week were kind of “meh” for me as well….

    I’m thinking of going over the schedule and changing a few of the weeks, are there any that you see that could use tweaking?

    I posted an October mini-challenge today so hopefully that will help people out of the slump 🙂

    • twoveganboys on said:

      Glad to hear I wasn’t the only one.

      I would try to mix up the desserts a little more. I noticed the week of October 9-15, we have three desserts to make. That is a lot of sugar for one week. I would try to spread those out a little more if possible.

      I am excited about the challenge. I have a few ideas up my sleeve. 🙂

  5. ‘La Dolce Vegan’ is my favourite vegan cookbook hands-down, but even-so, because the recipes come from multiple sources, there’s variation in how good they are. Anything by Wolffie is a guaranteed winner, and I made Daniyell’s banana pancakes just the other day for Meg because in our house, that recipe completely RULES! My kids prefer those pancakes over every other pancake recipe I’ve ever made and I’ve got to admit, they are delicious – so bear with it! For every recipe-miss there is like, half a dozen hits! xo

    • twoveganboys on said:

      I agree, DJ. I am by no means throwing in the towel, I know there are some good ones to come. I think every cookbook has at least one flop recipe in it. It happens. 🙂

Leave a Reply

