Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Hello Reuben…..

I would like to introduce you to my boyfriend Reuben.  He is delicious.  Hee hee.  The first sandwich that we made for Vegan Mofo was ‘The Reuben’.  I love this vegan version of the sandwich, it is so tasty.  You can also add some type of vegan lunchmeat or tempeh.  Here is how we made our Reubens.

Reubens

4 slices rye bread

1 avocado, sliced

2-4 slices swiss cheeze

1 cup saurkraut, warmed

1000 Island dressing, vegan

soy margarine

1/2 onion, sliced

1/2 red bell pepper, roasted and sliced

In a skillet, saute the onion slices in margarine until carmelized. Remove from skillet and set aside. Put more margarine in the skillet to melt. Begin assembling your Reuben. Bread, cheeze slices, avocado, half the saurkraut, onion, and red bell pepper slices. Top with another slice of rye bread. Grill sandwich in the skillet until lite brown on both sides. Cut in half and serve with some roasted potatoes. Dip your sandwich in 1000 Island dressing. Delicious.

Check back later in the week for our second sandwich in the Vegan Mofo theme.  As always, we will still be cooking meals and participating in the La Dolce Vegan Challenge, so come back often.

Hope you have a lovely evening.

peas and love….

Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

12 thoughts on “Hello Reuben…..

  1. woo hoo

  2. “I would like to introduce you to my boyfriend Reuben. He is delicious.”

    HAHAHA still laughing! (Apparently I have the humor-level of a freshman boy.)

  3. veganappetite on said:

    The reuben is my all time favorite sandwich. Yum to yours!

  4. i need a boyfriend named reuben too now!:) yumm yumm.

  5. holy wow this looks good! I’ve always been interested in trying to make different kinds of sandwhiches and this one might be the first I try out!

  6. I Looove reubens! I make on with sauteed mushrooms, but I’m going to have to try this one out 🙂

  7. I definitely have a craving for this now…

Leave a Reply

