Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Mmmmm coconut……

This evening I made a coconut curry eggplant dish.  I used a Japanese eggplant, some Chinese cabbbage from our little garden plot, serrano peppers, garlic, onion, sweet potatoes, coconut milk and some green curry paste.  It was quite tasty. I served it over brown rice.  I was really excited to use the Chinese cabbage and peppers fresh from the garden.

Last night I made a pot pie.  I made a top and bottom crust because everyone knows, pot pie has to have a top and bottom crust.  And the crust has to be homemade.  Hee hee.  That’s what I think.  I filled it with homemade seitan, some chopped winter squash, potatoes, spinach, carrots, and I used some of the broccoli cheeze soup I made over the weekend to give it a creamy texture.  Delicious.  The boys enjoyed it as well.

Tomorrow is taco night. I have been wanting to make tacos all week long, so I am going to.  Mmmm.  I am going to soak the pinto beans tonite and make them in the morning.  And the homemade tortillas right before Josh gets home.  The boys will be excited because they love, love, love homemade tortillas and quesadills.

So, Halloween is just around the corner.  What is your costume? Are you ready?  We will be baking some fun Halloween goodies this weekend.

Hope you have a lovely evening.

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Mmmmm coconut……

  1. Love reading about meals. Your children look so healthy!

  2. I have a question about growing your own vegetables. It’s always been a dream of mine to live in the countryside, grow food etc. Now I’ve got a boyfriend who shares that dream, it seems more within reach… but, in a way, the way I am right now at least, I wonder how realistic it is. Just the other day, we were given quite a few heads of broccoli by a friend, from their garden, and come the next day when I was going to cook them, I noticed they were absolutely covered in bugs – bulbous green lice-like things, mostly.. And we soaked and we rinsed and eventually realised it was impossible to get them all off, and I just found it so disgusting, bf had to cook them for himself, and I had something else.. So yeah.. Can’t really handle bugs, especially not in food.. At the same time, organic is the way to go, right? Is this the case with all veggies? Do I just have to avoid growing broccoli? Is my country-living doomed to fail?

    • twoveganboys on said:

      There are organic sprays you can make or buy to get rid of bugs. Bugs are definitely part of gardening, but you can fight them and keep them at bay. We did a lot of internet research on garden pests as well as talking to our local organic garden center, they were really helpful. Our broccoli never had bugs. We once had a collard plant devoured by aphids. So, the next year we put ladybugs in the garden, they are great for gardens and rid the aphids. Don’t give up hope on our organic garden. 🙂

  3. Halloween has never really been a part of my year, except for a few odd parties. I do lock up my little black cat around it, though. I like the idea of dressing up and eating goodies, though.

    I’ve given your blog a Liebster award – details are on my blog in the 500 Vegan Recipes blog post.

Leave a Reply

