Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

The humble garden….

As I mentioned in previous posts, we have a little garden plot in our friend’s yard.  We are very fortunate to have her to share her yard with us.  Without it, I would be attempting to garden in buckets.  After a summer of hell and having to unexpectedly move, we really miss our big backyard.  Having this little garden helps soften the blow a little. Though it still sucks that the boys have no outdoor space to play, where as they used to have more than enough room.  Ugh.

Here is our garden plot.  I am posting two views.  The plot is in the shape of a “U”.  It is producing an abundance of greens and you can’t beat having your food travel less than a quarter of a mile.

Last night I made a lovely eggplant and bok choi dish.  The marinade I made for it was amazing.  The bok choi came from our garden and the eggplant from our friend’s garden.  It was so good.

Today we are taking it easy, making some kale chips and banana bread.  Later I am making dough for pizza night.  Yippee!  I am making a “goat” cheeze, beet green, carmelized onion, roasted garlic, and kalamata pizza for me and Josh.  A beet green and cheeze pizza for the little guys.

Hope you have a great day.  And to all of our veterans, thank you for all that you do.  God bless.

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “The humble garden….

  1. Krys, your garden looks awesome, I agree you cant beat having your food travel less than a 1/4 mile. I live in Pennsylvania and wish I could have a outdoor garden all year round, but up here it is actually so cold it is snowing lightly up here. The eggplant dish looks amazing and the pizzas sound yummy. Have a great night and weekend !!

    • twoveganboys on said:

      Kristen-Thanks. Our garden at our old place was huge. We actually had 3 beds. I am glad we have at least one this year. We are finally getting some chilly weather. Nothing like what you are having, but I welcome it after the horrible summer. Hope you have a terrific weekend.

  2. I skipped the garden this year and really regretted it. I am going to be all over it next year. That is super cool that you can share the yard for your garden.

    • twoveganboys on said:

      We skipped one season and regretted it as well. Never again. 🙂 And yes, we are lucky to have a yard to share. Hope you have a great weekend. 🙂

  3. i love your garden! we are on the wait list for next years community p-patch lot. but we wont be able to do much beyond summer anyway.. i need a green house with controlled temperature or something.. maybe will make one when i get a back yard!

Leave a Reply

