Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Well rounded…..

Since I have gotten back into cycling.  I am focusing on eating even more rounded meals.  Tonite I made a Mexican style bowl, it had brown rice, black beans, chopped raw greens from the garden, roasted sweet potatoes, nutritional yeast sauce, and topped it with pepitas (raw pumpkin seeds).  It was simple, very healthy, low fat, and delicious.  Oh and I can’t forget, very well rounded.  Grains, starch, protein, greens, B12, all kinds of goodness mixed into the dinner.

I usual cycle 3-4 times a day.  I love it.  Today the wind was brutal and it was cold, very cold.  The boys of course were snuggly and warm in the bike trailer.  They were layered, had a comforter on them, as well as the trailer has a plastic cover to protect them from the elements.  My cycling miles will add up to even more in April.  I will have two 20 mile days a week.  I am actually excited about adding more miles.  Making my goal 45-50 miles a week. Woo hoo!

Speaking of the cold, we are having a hard freeze tonite.  It has made me realize that if given the choice, I think I prefer the warm over the cold.  🙂

Well, I am off to watch a movie with my guys.  Hope you have a great evening and are staying safe and warm.

peas and love….

Krys and boys

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Well rounded…..

  1. I’m trying to do more biking too. Found a back road to one of my favorite grocery stores this week it’s 16 miles round trip. I’ve been twice this week on my bike. But yesterday and today were just too cold. You’re such a rock star! You’re dinner is done, mine isn’t even started and we’re in the same time zone! I better get to it……….:)

    • twoveganboys on said:

      Ahh, thanks. I think you are amazing. I am really starting love being on the bike. If I miss a day, I am antsy. 🙂

      That is so awesome you are biking too.

  2. Wow, that looks great! What do you put in your nutritional yeast sauce, besides the nooch?

    • twoveganboys on said:

      Nutritional Yeast Cheezy Sauce
      1/2c nutritional yeast
      1c water or broth
      2T flour
      2T vegenaise (or you can use 2T soy margarine)
      1/2t salt
      1t paprika
      1t cumin
      1t mustard powder
      1/4t garlic powder
      1t onion powder

      Combine all the ingredients in a saucepan, bring to a very low boil. Lower heat and stir until thick. Use as a sauce for mac & cheeze, nachos, tacos, etc
      (c) Two Vegan Boys 2011

  3. Anonymous on said:

    lovely goals!

  4. Two 20 milers a week while hauling the kids? If so your going to have some power quads pretty soon. Glad your getting some more cycling miles in!

Leave a Reply

