Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

I’m back….

After a ton of unpacking.  Oy!  I am back.  The kitchen was unpacked first.  Hee hee.  Priorities.  We love the place and the boys are thrilled.  Moving is such a pain, but we are happy, so all the heavy lifting was well worth it.

One thing I love about the new place, new appliances.  We have a brand new stove and a brand new refrigerator.  Yippee!  I have already baked scones, three diffrent types of muffins, and bread all before Tuesday.  🙂

And of course I cooked.  We went out to eat twice during our move and not to sound like a snob, but after dining away from home, I would much rather cook instead of dine at a restaurant.  The food was good, not great. 

Monday, I utilized the crockpot.  Since I was busy unpacking I needed something that would cook itself.  I did a “Everything but the kitchen sink” type of red curry stew.  I was tasty and easy to make.  I love those type of meals.

Last night I made a lovely pasta dish.  After riding 12 miles, the pasta hit the spot.  It was wholewheat pasta with a broccoli pesto, veggies, almonds, avocado, a nutty vegan cheese, and red pepper flakes.  It was amazing.

Tonite I made tacos.  As I mentioned earlier, we went out to eat during our move.  One of the meals was “meh”.  It was at a Mexican restaurant and wasn’t really worth the money it cost taste wise.  So tonite, I decided to make tacos.  They were amazing.  I made potato kale tacos with avocado, salsa, and a nutritional yeast sauce.  And of course homemade tortillas.  I served the tacos with a side of refried beans, never from a can.  It was perfect.

Well I am off to bed. I have an 18.5 mile bike ride tomorrow.  Good times.  Hope you have a lovely evening.

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “I’m back….

  1. How exciting! Enjoy your new place!

  2. the pasta sounds awesome. i love broccoli! congrats on your new home. it always feels so good to get unpacked and settled in.

  3. That pasta dish sounds and looks delicious. I love avocados and nutty vegan cheeses…recipe ? 🙂

    • The nutty cheese is from my friend Melody’s blog. It is amazing. Here is the recipe. 🙂
      Melomeals: Vegan For $3.33 A Day.

      Goaty Cashew
      1 c cashews or almonds
      1 c sauerkraut
      2 T miso
      2 t Dijon
      1 t Umeboshi vinegar or apple cider vinegar
      Pinch salt (optional)
      Combine all of the ingredients and puree in a food processor. Store in a container and place in the fridge. Let marinate for a day or 2 before eating.

Leave a Reply

