Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Hot Tamale!!!!!

Yesterday, we went to our friend Georgianne’s house and made tamales.  A lot of tamales.  I brought over a crock pot of pinto beans.  While they were simmering, we made tamales.  We made at least 4 dozen.  We made sweet potato/walnut and swiss chard/potato/apple sage vegan sausage.  The swiss chard was fresh from the garden.  The tamales were amazing and well worth all of the work.  We had a ton left over.  We now have some tamale goodness in our freezer.

The pinto beans were delicious.  I love dry beans and I especially love refried beans.  I simmered a pound of pinto beans in the crockpot with 8 cups of homemade veggie broth, chopped cilantro, onion, garlic, salt, pepper, and a chopped tomato.  Once they were done cooking, I turned the crockpot of pintos into a crockpot of refried beans.  Yum!

And that brings me to my thoughts on dry versus canned.  I prefer dried beans.  You get more for your money, they taste better, meaning they don’t have that weird can after taste, and there is no BPA in dry beans.  If you don’t know what BPA is, look it up. It is a chemical found in the cans used to store foods.  It leaches toxic chemicals.  No thanks.

How was your weekend?

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Hot Tamale!!!!!

  1. Erica Rose on said:

    Can you pls elaborate on how you turn your pintos into refried beans? I’m trying to get into cooking dried beans, but they always taste so bland. I’d love to know your technique! Thanks!!

    • twoveganboys on said:

      I put 1lb pintos in a crockpot with 6c veggie broth, some onion, garlic, chili powder, cumin, salt, and chopped cilantro. Simmer all day, until super tender. Drain, reserving the liquid. Mash in a pot and add the reserved liquid as needed to get the desired consistency. 🙂

Leave a Reply

