Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Green goodness…..

For dinner this evening, I made a broccoli/cashew stirfry.  I served it over brown rice.  The sauce was sweet and the red pepper flakes made the dish spicy.  A perfect combination. 

I bought the broccoli from the Farmers Market.  The local, organic farm had beautiful bags of broccoli.  In the silence, I could hear the broccoli calling my name.  Hee hee.  Nothing beats, fresh and organic.

It is funny when I think about broccoli now as compared to when I was a kid. My boys love raw broccoli. I don’t recall ever being much of a fan of broccoli growing up.  But then again, I hated mushrooms, and now I love them.  I also think it has to do with being raised by people whose idea of a meal is the box you find in the freezer case.  I recall being in the grocery store and hearing, “Go pick out your dinner.”  It was either a tv dinner or a frozen pot pie.  You know, the kind that are a buck each.  Yikes!

Broccoli also reminds me of the scene from Seinfeld when Newman says he likes broccoli.  He takes a bite, then spits it out and yells, “Vile Weed!”  I love it.

So, tomorrow is Fat Tuesday.  Do you have plans?  Are you giving anything up for Lent?  I forgot it was tomorrow, until I heard a friend mention it.  It is just a regular Tuesday for a busy mum with two little boys.  If you are celebrating, I hope you have fun.  Be safe.

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Green goodness…..

  1. Haha! Any seinfeld post and I am a fan! I love the combination of broc and cashews! Yum!

Leave a Reply

