Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Waffles and Tacos…..

not together, but I’m sure they would be.  For breakfast today, I made banana/cinnamon sugar waffles.  They are a favorite around here and quite tasty.  Mmmm.

As I mentioned before, it is turning warm here.  Early summer in the South.  So, we went to the dinosaur museum, a favorite of our youngest.  He loves dinosaurs, and that is an understatement.  He wants another dinosaur birthday cake.  Shh, don’t tell him, but I plan to surprise him with a pteranodon birthday cake this year.  He is going to “crap his pants”, as his big brother likes to say.  Ha ha!

When we returned home, I made black bean and cheeze quesadillas for the boys, and veggie tacos for Josh and I.  I sauteed mushrooms, kale, garlic, onion, serrano pepper, and carrots in taco seasoning, made some roasted potatoes, refried black, beans, and topped them with nutritional yeast cheese sauce, salsa, and fresh avocado.  It was a win/win.

I am counting down to our camping trip next month.  I can’t wait!  I have a list of food I plan to make for the trip and vegan smores!  Yes, please.  It is going to be so fun and the boys are super excited.

Well, I am off to enjoy what is left of this evening.  Hope you had a great weekend.

peas and love….

Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Waffles and Tacos…..

  1. Krys: Hi! When you make refried black beans, do you make your black beans from “scratch” ( dried black beans)? Just curious. If you do, do you cook the beans in buik and then freeze them? Thanks, Anne

    • twoveganboys on said:

      Anne-Hi. I cook a pound of black beens in the crockpot. I add 8 cups broth, 1/2 an onion, 3 cloves garlic, a cup of chopped cilantro, 1T cumin, 2 teaspoons, chili powder, and salt to taste. I simmer it all day, and when I am ready to use the beans, I mash what I want to eat for dinner into refried beans, and put the rest in serving size containers in the freezer. 🙂

  2. Banana/cinnamon sugar waffles?! Yum! I wish we had a waffle maker. In fact, I think I’ll look for one after looking at how tasty your waffles look 😉

Leave a Reply

