Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

TGIF!!!!!

I plan on cooking up a storm this weekend.  Today, I made bread to use later this weekend for pudding.  I also made a cream of mushroom soup. I had some mushrooms that were turning, and as I mentioned before, I loathe wasting food.  So, I made the soup and put it in small containers in the freezer to use later. I will use it for future pot pies, and casseroles. 

For dinner I made African rolls.  It is a favorite dish around here.  Josh ranks it in his top ten.  It is tortillas, in this case homemade tortillas, mashed sweet potatoes, brown rice, steamed kale, fresh sprouts, a dash of hot sauce, and a spicy cilantro peanut sauce.  They are oh so delicious.  The boys had rice, sweet potato mash in a tortilla, with some kale chips on the side.

As for the cooking this weekend.  Josh was at the discount book store a week ago looking for a book and he brought us home a treat.  He picked this book up for me.  I have the first book, ‘World Food Cafe’, which is by far my favorite cookbook.  To my surprise, the authors had written a second one.  So, I plan to cook out of the book and make Caribbean food.  Yum!  I also found a Caribbean dessert recipe, banana bread pudding.  Bread pudding with bananas, toppped with a homemade caramel sauce.  Yes, please!

And, thanks to my dear friend DJ for posting her periogie recipe. I am going to make periogies for the first time.  I am excited. I plan to serve them with vegan sour cream, and hot sauce.  Mmm, mmm.

Hope you have a great weekend.

peas and love….

Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “TGIF!!!!!

  1. Vicki (Pats sister) on said:

    Krys, those African Dinner Rolls sound so good

  2. OOOH! that sounds so delicious!! sweet potatoes with a cilantro peanut sauce!! i’m definitely going to have to try that! thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

