Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Fancy pants pizza….

Well, yesterday we received our first CSA share from a new CSA we were trying.  There is no picture, because we were very disappointed.  The amount of produce we got for our money, was small, and when I say small, I mean small. A different CSA we tried last year gave us a ton of produce, a big bargain for your money.  All organic, and perfect.  Lesson learned, we will not use this CSA again.

For dinner, I made a fancy pizza.  It was not your typical vegan meat and cheese pizza.  I made a homemade crust, lightly brushed it with a little olive oil, put some sliced radicchio on it, white beans that I had gently sauteed in a little red wine vinegar and sea salt, some carmelized leeks, topped it with a vegan nutty goat cheese, and fresh thyme.  It was unique and delicious.  We had half  a head of radicchio from our CSA share and I wanted to use it along with the leeks we got.

I also made some refrigerator pickles.  There were 4 cucumbers in the CSA share, we got half of them, so I decided to use them for some pickles.  The recipe I used was sent to me from a friend.  She found the recipe online.  The pickles are easy to make and delicious.  They will be so tasty next week with our vegan pastrami on rye sandwiches.  Mmmm.

Tomorrow is Friday.  Happy dance!  After our youngest being sick yesterday, and wee bit grumpy this morning, I welcome the weekend.  Do you have any plans?

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Fancy pants pizza….

  1. Theresa on said:

    That is a beautiful pizza! I tried to go to the site for the vegan goat cheese earlier, but it wouldn’t work, I will try again. That is to bad about the CSA share. Maybe it will get better as the summer goes on. I did copy the pickle recipe, it does look so good and easy to make! Thank you for sharing! I started a lot of tomato and pepper plants and some basil too, so they are going out into the garden this weekend, it looks like the weather will cooperate! My husband loves to make salsa and we love it, so I hope they survive!

    • twoveganboys on said:

      Hmm, that is strange the link didn’t work. 😦

      Oooh, I love homemade salsa. I don’t think you can ever have to many tomatoes. 🙂

  2. yum! what a beautiful pizza! a such gourmet flavors! that sounds so wonderful with the white beans! thanks for sharing!

    • twoveganboys on said:

      It was quite tasty. I think next time, I will smash the beans a bit and make them the base. It was a great way to use the radicchio. 🙂

  3. Sorry to hear about the CSA. 😦 At least the pizza looks good! 🙂

    http://haymarket8.blogspot.com

  4. the pizza sounds awesome — so gourmet! vegan pastrami sounds amazing, too. if you don’t mind me asking, which CSA was the disappointing one? i really want to join one this month, maybe johnson’s or greenling.

Leave a Reply

