Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Hot summer nights….

The days are getting hot here, so I felt the need to make a cooler dinner.  I made some homemade falafel, thanks to Manjula of Manjula’s Kitchen.  They were easy to make and delicious.  We had some homemade pitas in the freezer from the last time I made pitas.  We stopped by our local Middle Eastern grocery store and bought some fresh made hummus, and babaganoush.  The best in town.  The meal was perfect.

Tomorrow, I plan to make two types of vegan lunch meat, roast some tomatoes for homemade tomato sauce, bake some light rye bread, and then for dinner cook some Italian food.  It will be a busy morning of cooking, but well worth it.  We will have some awesome sandwiches to take on the road with us for our family day trip on Friday. 

Well, I am off to wind down for the evening.  Hope you have a lovely day.

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “Hot summer nights….

  1. That plate is right up my street, I have chickpeas defrosting on the work surface just now for hummus tomorrow, and those pitas and falafel look soooooo good!

  2. Theresa on said:

    That looks so delicious and like comfort food! I am wondering if you used a whole hot pepper with the seeds left in for your boys? Were they very spicy? My grandsons aren’t to fond of spicy food. Thank you again for sharing!

    • twoveganboys on said:

      No hot peppers when it comes to the boys. My 5 year old will not eat hot food, the 3 year old will actually eat mildly spicy food. 🙂

  3. that plate looks so delicious! i love a good hummus plate! especially during the summer! thanks for sharing!

  4. Mmmmmmm I love falafel and hummus and all that yummy stuff! I am uber lazy though and do not usually make my own. Trader Joes has a bag of vegan frozen ones that I think are pretty good though I am sure homemade ones are better!

    • twoveganboys on said:

      These were pretty easy to make. I plan to make more and freeze them. 🙂 We are getting a Trader Joes here. I can’t wait.

  5. Looks so good! I love homemade falafel! Yum! I hope you and the boys are well! 🙂

    http://haymarket8.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

