Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Update……

Well hello there.  How are you?  We are great and have been cooking up some goodness as usual.  In the theme of E.A.T. World.  I cooked some Moroccan food.  It was so good.  I made Moroccan spiced tofu, a rice salad from Vegan Fire and Spice and some sauteed collard greens.  I also cooked this meal for my dinner co-op.  The boys loved the rice salad.

Over the weekend, Joshua and I celebrated our 7 year  anniversary.  Seven years ago, we were married in Scoland, in the Kingdom of Fife, overlooking the Firth of Forth in the little village of Crail. I am so blessed and we are even more blessed with our beautiful little guys.  Happiness!

Saturday Josh had to work, so the boys and I went to a birds of prey exhibit.  A conservation society in a city near ours rescues birds of prey who have been injured, or raised by humans and cannot go back into the wild.  They brought several types of birds out for people to see and learn about.  We saw hawks, an eagle, owls and a vulture.  Arthur loved it.  It was interesting to hear about each bird and how they live in the wild.  It makes me sad to see that people would intentionally injure these beautiful creatures.  The eagle had been shot by a person.

Arthur sitting on the grass listening and watching the birds.

As I said in my last post, Spring has definitely hit here.  I love it.  Sunday there was  a kite festival in the park.  We packed a picnic and the two kites DJ sent us.  Thanks DJ!  There were kites everywhere.  We found a nice spot under a shade tree.  We enjoyed our lunch.  Little bear Adam walked around and Arthur and his Daddy flew a kite.  Afterwards we walked to a local coffee shop, had an ice coffee and some vegan cupcakes. 

Arthur flying his kite.

Kites everywhere.  There were kites all over the sky.  All shapes and sizes.  It was great.

Our little bear Adam enjoying the kites.

Sunday evening we grilled.  Arthur has been asking his Daddy to bbq.  So we roasted some portabello caps, tofu pups and potatoes on the grill.  It was terrific.  I served the meal with a salad.

I am posting a picture of this salad for a reason.  It may not look like an exciting salad, but it is.  You see, the greens in this salad came from our garden.   It has three types of lettuce greens in it.  The lettuce was perfect.  Cut fresh, washed and placed in the salad bowl.  There was no long truck ride, being handled by several people, sitting in the grocery store under artificial light, and living in a plastic bag on the car ride home.  Nope, this lettuce came straight from our organic backyard garden to our dinner table.  Perfect!

Yesterday we dug up the ground for our tomato and basil garden. We planted the tomatoes and I plan to get the basil this weekend from the organic garden store.  There are 2 beefsteak tomato plants, 2 roma tomato plants and 2 yellow tomatoes plants.  We started the garden with perfect timing because today it is raining.  Since we were in the backyard gardening and the boys were playing, I made us chili cheeze hot dogs for lunch.  I poured a nooch sauce on top.  It was awesome.  A perfect Spring lunch.

Well I am off to do a bit of cleaning around here.  Hope you have a lovely day.

peas and love….

Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “Update……

  1. Congrats on 7 years! That is great! I love the fact that the greens came from you garden! That is awesome!

  2. We have two big red tail hawks that live in the tree behind our house. They are so fun to watch.

    Wow, your own lettuce! I must learn to garden.

    Have I mentioned how much I love your hair?

  3. Happy 7th!
    That rice salad looks really good.

  4. Congratulations on your seven years – may you have many more happy years together! And I’m soooo glad the boys got a chance to give the kites a whirl! DJ xo

  5. Happy anniversary! Seven happy years, that’s awesome! We celebrated our seventh anniversary last month too. 🙂

    That bald eagle is beautiful. GRRR!! People make me so angry! Who would shoot this amazing creature? But then again there are the kind people who take care of this animals that keep me from completely losing faith in humanity.

    Your food looks delicious! I am not sure what I will be doing for my “M” entry yet, but Morocco sounds very tempting. And I am very jealous of your fresh lettuce.

    Your boys always look so happy and healthy! 🙂

  6. congrats on 7 years! It has been so lovely here, where was this exhibit? we need to see that

  7. Happy Anniversary! This year is our 6th. All that good food – and garden greens? I’m so excited that I’ll have a garden when we move this summer. Yippie!

  8. Congrats to you! Keep the pictures coming and thanks for posting them on facebook as well. I went to 3 stores this past weekend to find basil plants. THREE and no one had any. This year I want 1/2 my garden to be basil. Wish me and the worms luck. The ones in the ground are good luck but I’m challenged with the tomato worms. Got my first composter up and spinning! That’s a start!

  9. You really need to think about your priorities and keep them in harmonization w/ the big picture of compassion and logic.

    You won’t eat meat and I totally commend you for it… I really do. You won’t condone the slaughter and consumption of animals for meat, yet you WILL condone the totally unnecessary and cruel human torture by having your sons (sons, not daughters!) held down and a scalpel taken their penises being skinned alive at birth for no good reason and in fact, harmfully and permanently disfigure them.

    http://www.stopthecut.org/

    As much as I’m against the concept of eating meat, I’d _rather_ support a meat-eating parents who leave their boys genitals INTACT than a Vegan who doesn’t respect their human rights.

    I urge you to do the same education of genital integrity that you did on Veganism and _stop_ the mutilation of future-males.

    http://www.mgmbill.org/

    • Dear Caden Canyon-Before you come onto to my site bashing me. Please note that I have never mentioned whether or not my boys are circumcised. If they were it might have to do with the fact that their father is Jewish. But since he is not a hardcore practicing Jew, circumcision is not a big deal to him. Second, some people have had their sons circumcised for health reasons, due to a serious history of male-related cancer. So, if removing your son’s foreskin could save his life in the future or keep him from losing a body part, I can understand why a parent might do it. Third, I am from a healthcare background and have seen several circumcisions performed. It is not my place to judge a parent nor anyone else for their decisions they make in life. When a circumcision is done, they use anethesia, so the young lad feels no pain. But once again, I have never mentioned whether my sons went under the knife or not. So, before you start running your mouth and judging me, check your sources.

  10. Pingback: E.A.T World Blog Challenge (Guidelines and List of World Eaters!)

Leave a comment