Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Weekend update…..

How was your weekend?  Our’s was relatively quiet.  Josh had to work Saturday, so the boys and I took it easy.  It was beautiful outdoors so I did some half marathon training with the boys in tow.  I also did some cooking.

Friday night I made black bean burgers.  The recipe is from the site My Vegan Cookbook.  They were delicious. I doubled the recipe and froze the rest to eat later.  The boys liked them as well.  I served them with homemade burger buns, lettuce, tomatoes, cheeze, veganaise, and guacamole. I also made some sweet potatoes fries to top off the meal.

So, have you looked into the “Eating Around the World” series that River started.  It is fun.  Check it out.  Over the weekend, I cooked two meals from the same country.  We travelled to Mexico via our dinner plates.  Saturday night I cooked from the book Vegan Fire and Spice.  I made a red bean and rice casserole.  It was under the Mexico section of the cookbook.  The casserole was simple, yet so tasty.  It was creamy and spicy.  And made a ton.  I also made potato flautas.  They were so good. It was a recipe I created.  I served them with homemade tomatillo sauce, black beans and Mexican spiced rice.  Yum!  I am looking forward to leftovers.

Red bean and rice casserole.

Potato flautas.

Sunday morning we always make a big breakfast, whether it be pancakes, biscuits and “sausage”, breakfast taco, etc.  Yesterday morning I made waffles.  The recipe came from Vegan Brunch.  I made the gingerbread pancakes.  I put peaches in the waffles as well.  We had some peaches in our freezer that we got from the Farmers Market last Spring.  Oh my.  These were so good.  Nothing beats ginger peach waffles with fresh maple syrup.  Wow!  The boys loved them as well.  What’s not to love?!?

The half marathon is next Sunday.  The weather is supposed to be nice.  I am excited.  The boys will be none to pleased since it starts at 6:45am.  Oy!  Hopefully they will fall back asleep in the double jogger once the race starts. I also have another half marathon in February, on Valentine’s Day.  Yippee!

Here is Arthur showing off his tattoo.  I bet you didn’t know he was that hardcore.  A 3 year old with a tattoo.  Hee hee.  If you can’t read it, it says “Tofurky“.  He loves it.  So, do you think if I get a real tattoo like Arthur’s showing my love for Tofurky, I might get free Tofurky for a lifetime?  That would be awesome.  There was actually a restaurant in California that gave its patrons free meals for life if they got a tattoo of the restaurant’s mascot.  Only three customers did it. T hey loved the food, so apparently it was worth it.  Something to think about. 🙂

My little grumpy bear Adam.

Well, I am off to do a little baking for the week’s breakfast and take the boys out for a 4 mile run.  Hope you have a lovely day.

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Weekend update…..

  1. Wow, I didn’t know the boys would be joining you in the race. That is some serious work! Good luck!

  2. The veggie burgers looks great! I also love the fake tattoo! 😉

  3. Looks like a wonderful trip to Mexico over the weekend 🙂 Everything looks great – love those potato flautas, and I’ve never tried making them. That’s an awesome burger and fries combination too! Also, I love that tofurkey tattoo – brilliant 🙂

  4. lazysmurf on said:

    I think you should TOTALLY ask tofurkey if they would give you a lifetime supply, just send that picture of Arthur and their hearts will melt.

  5. Awesome Mexican food, Krys! Thanks for the mention, I’m so glad you joined in! 🙂

    The casserole looks deliciously creamy and comforting, and the potato flautas look amazing with that tomatillo sauce on top. You can’t beat black bean burgers and sweet potato fries, they are such a great combo.

    What a cute tattoo! The tofurky people should send you some goodies! 🙂

  6. The food looks fab.

    Your kiddos are really cute!

  7. Pingback: E.A.T World Blog Challenge (Guidelines and List of World Eaters!) | Wing It Vegan

Leave a comment