Two Vegan Boys Weblog

A journey of cooking vegan food for my family.

Hot pastrami…..

A month or so ago, I created a recipe for pastrami.  It was delicious.  I decided to make pastrami again, so we would have some delicious sandwiches to take with us on our daytrip to the Museum of Natural History.  I also made vegan swiss cheese.  The recipe is from the cookbook, The Ultimate Uncheese Book.  It made for a very tasty sandwich.

Fresh made vegan pastrami

Vegan Pastrami

2T coarse black pepper

1 1/2T coriander

1/2t red pepper flakes

1t garlic powder

1T paprika

1t salt

1 3/4c +2T vital wheat gluten

1/4c nutritional yeast

1T olive oil

2T ketchup

1/3c red wine

2t liquid smoke

1 1/4c vegetable broth

In a mixing bowl, combine all of the dry ingredients, except the 2 tablespoons of vital wheat gluten.  Add the wet ingredients.  Knead until all of the ingredients are incorporated. Knead the additional 2tablespoons of vital wheat gluten intp the mixture.  Form into a large sausage.  Wrap tightly in foil.  Steam for 45 minutes.  Bake for another 30 minutes at 350F in a lightly greased loaf pan uncovered.  Slice and eat.

© Two Vegan Boys 2012

A lovely sandwich, with some homemade refrigerator pickles.  Mmmm…..

I am off to play in the pool with my guys.  Hope you have a great weekend.

peas and love….
Krys and the boys

Single Post Navigation

18 thoughts on “Hot pastrami…..

  1. Theresa on said:

    That looks so good! I have to get brave and try this! Is the coriander a seed or is it ground? Thank you!

  2. This looks really interesting. The sandwich looks yummy!

    Wish you a great weekend too. 🙂

  3. can’t wait to make this! i had vegan pastrami once in montreal and it was so spicy and delicious!

  4. wow — that looks incredible! a culinary accomplishment! 🙂

  5. I am making this RIGHT NOW! The last recipe I got from you for setan was so good that you are now my official point of reference for all things gluten. 🙂

  6. I am steaming mine right now I’ll let you know how it turns out. All I know is that it smelled so good when I was kneading it! How did you steam yours? I’m using a pot and a metal steamer basket. I hope there is enough water to last 45 minutes though.

  7. It turned out so good! So “meaty”. I think I’m going to go slightly less on the pepper next time. I think mine was too strong because I ground it fresh.

  8. Have to try this. Before I went Vegan my favorite lunch was a hot pastrami on rye (a bissel mustard), Potato Knish and a Dr. Brown’s Cream Soda (no other cream soda will do).

  9. I’ve been on a quest to discover the best recipe for a meatless “Reuben” sandwich, and this recipe has come the closest to replicating “Reuben meat.” I know, “Reuben” sandwiches are made with Corned beef, not Pastrami, but this is a meatless version, and I will be satisfied with a spiced gluten loaf that replicates either of these close cousins in the culinary world.
    This recipe was much better than a similar recipe for vegan “corned beef” that I tried (http://www.everydaydish.tv/recipe/vegan-seitan-corned-beef), which turned out crumbly, bland and not salty enough. After following this recipe, however, I was rewarded with a nice firm loaf with a dark crusty exterior and a beautiful red interior. I suspect that the red wine in this recipe is crucial! The flavor was very good, but just a little too peppery, so I would suggest cutting back on the the black pepper (closer to one tbsp would probably be about right). For my next attempt at making mouth-watering faux sandwich meat, I’m going to use this recipe as a base and add some of the spices from the “corned beef” recipe (such as ground fennel and caraway seeds). I may also include some Bulghur wheat like another recipe for “Seitan Pastrami” suggests (http://www.ellenskitchen.com/recipebox/glutpast.html).
    Thanks for a great recipe, Krys!!

  10. conniefletch on said:

    Krys…doyou unwrap the roast before baking it? I am hoping that’s the case. It’s going into the steamer in about 3 minutes…then 45 min there, then I am hoping it unwrapped for the baking…otherwise, I’ll be disappointed.

  11. This recipe looks great, and I can’t wait to try it!

    One question: is the red wine absolutely necessary? If it’s only there for pigment, could you suggest an alternate red color source?

    I (and I imagine others) await your answer.

    Thanks in advance!

    — Bruce

Leave a comment